Home | About | Help |  All collections | ...by Institution | Contact Us

A service of the Illinois State Library and the Office of the Illinois Secretary of StateILLINOIS DIGITAL ARCHIVES

Local History

A University Goes to War, World War I Women browse-->>

The materials in this collection, dating from 1917-1919, document the participation of the students, alumni, faculty and staff of Illinois State Normal University in World War I. During the war, Illinois State Normal University Librarian Ange Milner corresponded with persons in service. After the war, she sent a survey to all who could be located. The bulk of the material in this collection consists of the responses to this survey as well as letters and photographs sent to Miss Milner and others at the University. These materials were gathered in War Service Records for each individual. It also includes documentation of on-campus activities, including a reunion for everyone that served in World War I, hosted by the University in June 1919.

These women form a very interesting group. Four of them were members of the University faculty (including the director of the newly-opened women's residence hall); six had graduated since 1910; five graduated between 1900 and 1910; one graduated in 1890 and was in her early forties at the time she entered the service; seven did not graduate; three were graduates of University High School; two were sisters. Most had taught school since graduation, but several had gone into nursing during World War I. Many served as nurses, reconstruction aides or Red Cross workers, and one spent the entire war as a Navy typist in Washington, D. C. About half of these women saw service in Europe. At least two served in hospital units that came under fire in France and one was among the twenty-plus women awarded the Croix de Guerre. One of the most prominent women in this group was Julia Scott Vrooman, wife of Carl Schurz Vrooman, U. S. Assistant Secretary of Agriculture who went to Europe as a member of the Agricultural Commission. The women represented in this collection provide excellent examples of the roles that women played in World War I.

For more information about this project, visit this link at the University Archives, Illinois State University.

A Village Grows - Fifty Years of Life in Elmwood Park browse-->>

Local history images of Elmwood Park

Abraham Lincoln - Documents browse-->>

The Illinois State Library has a large collection of materials relating to the life, political career, and assassination of Abraham Lincoln. In addition to biographies of Lincoln this collection includes contemporary accounts of the assassination and the trial of the conspirators; descriptions of Lincoln’s funeral and the Lincoln National Monument; the restoration of New Salem; and Lincoln in Springfield.

Algonquin & Lake in the Hills Local History browse-->>

The local history of Algonquin and Lake in the Hills

Arlington Heights History browse-->>

Local history images of Arlington Heights

Arlington Heights Military History browse-->>

A collection of papers concerning the Civil War belonging to early Arlington Heights residents.

Arlington Heights People & Places browse-->>

Historical images of Arlington Heights people and places.

Art Institute of Chicago Exhibition Catalogues browse-->>

This collection consists of Art Institute exhibition catalogues dating from 1882 to 1930. The catalogues document the earliest exhibitions of many important artists who studied and worked in Illinois, such as Walt Disney, William A. Harper, Archibald J. Motley, Jr., Georgia O'Keeffe, William Edward Scott, and Grant Wood.

Arthur, Once Upon a Time - Local History Images of Arthur browse-->>

The community of Arthur, Illinois has a rich history, some of which has been recorded in the photographs in this collection. The first settlement of Arthur began about 1850. At that time, much of the area was swampland. Amish settlers arrived in 1865 and the Arthur area is now home to the largest Amish settlement in Illinois. In 1870 the railroad was built to go across "The Big Slough", from Paris to Decatur, Illinois and in 1872 the building of Arthur began in earnest. By 1873 there were thirty dwellings in this new town, in addition to a large store, drug store, church, meeting hall, blacksmith shop and three grain offices - all doing business in Arthur.

The photographs in this collection depict everyday sights from the early 1900's to the middle of the century. One interesting series of photographs depicts the paving of Vine Street with brick, at a cost of $30,000 - a considerable sum in 1907. Many of the photographs in this collection are made available through the generosity of Mr. Noel C. Dicks. Mr. Dicks, a local pharmacist and owner of Dick's Pharmacy from 1960 to 1995, began collecting photographs of pharmacists and physicians who had practiced in Arthur. This collection sparked his interest in the history of the town. Due to the contributions of many local people his collection now consists of thousands of photographs, glass negatives, and other items of local interest.

Blessing Health Professions -First 25 Years of History browse-->>

Blessing Health Professions Library at Blessing Health System in Quincy has a unique collection of 19th century primary records of the founding of the Adams County Medical Society, Blessing Hospital and Blessing Training School for Nurses, among other institutions. The dates chosen for this collection are primarily post Civil War to 1900. These dates cover the beginning of the hospital, the nursing school, the medical board, and the veteran’s home (then known as Illinois Soldier’s and Sailor’s Home) .

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a grant awarded by the Illinois State Library, a Department of the Office of Secretary of State using state grant funds.

Bloomington-Normal Black History Project browse-->>

The Bloomington-Normal Black History Project was founded in 1982 and its collections span the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection contains photographs, portraits, booklets, articles, and photocopies related to club organizations and churches of the local Black community. In 1989, the Black History Project was affiliated with the McLean County Historical Society, which now serves as a repository for the project's collections.

For more information about this project visit this link at the McLean County Museum of History site.

Calumet Heritage Partnership - Acme Coke Plant browse-->>

The Acme Steel Company collection is curated and owned by the Calumet Heritage Partnership (http://www.calumetheritage.org), a group that serves the greater Calumet region at the southern end of Lake Michigan in Illinois and Indiana. CHP includes environmental, cultural and historical organizations, individuals, libraries, educational institutions, municipalities, and government agencies committed to celebrating, preserving and protecting the unique heritage of the Calumet region. Due to the loss of opportunity to create the Steel Heritage Museum at the Acme Coke plant, and its ongoing demolition, the Partnership group and friends have, over the past two years, rescued a large collection of blueprints, photographs, and other materials.

The importance of this collection has made it the focus of the Calumet Heritage Partnership for this digitizing grant. The Acme Steel section of the archives includes the digitization of Acme corporate-made photographs of employees and production equipment, aerial views, catalogs, booklets, and maps and other artifacts.

Cary Area History browse-->>

The collection includes Cary area historical photos, Cary Cemetery gravestone photos, and Cary Area Library historical photos. If you have any questions or comments please email us: carylibrary@gmail.com.

Charles Overstreet Collection browse-->>

Charles Overstreet is a long-time citizen of Flora with a passion for photography. During most of his eighty years, Mr. Overstreet has used his camera to record images of history. During World War II, as a member of the U. S. Army, 252nd Field Artillery Battalion, he captured over 700 images of life as a soldier and unique snapshots of events of the war.

Note: Please be aware that there are images (some graphic) of the atrocities committed at Gardelegen, Germany in April 1945 in this collection.

Cherry Valley Local History Collection browse-->>

The history of Cherry Valley in many ways typifies that of a small, mid-nineteenth century Illinois town. Its establishment in 1835, its mill on the Kishwaukee River, the coming of the railroad in 1852, its schools, businesses, civic organizations, and pioneer families - all the strands weave a fabric of heritage that provides the present foundation and civic character of Cherry Valley. Included in this collection is a document created by the Cherry Valley Bicentennial Committee, "Cherry Valley: Our Memories are Warm". This committee collected photographs, written histories and oral histories from village and area residents.

Chicago Botanic Garden Lenhardt Library browse-->>

The rare book collection at the Lenhardt Library of the Chicago Botanic Garden offers a comprehensive perspective on five centuries of research in botany, botanical art, horticulture, agriculture, gardening and landscape design. The digitized rare books included in Illinois Digital Archives provide an opportunity for close examination of unique materials.

Chicago Ridge Online History Collection browse-->>

Chicago Ridge Public Library’s Online History Collection contains images and texts related to the people and places unique to the history of the village of Chicago Ridge, Illinois. The collection includes photographs, pamphlets, newsletters, brochures, scrapbook pages, interviews, narratives, artwork, and clippings from the Chicago Ridge Citizen Newspaper, as well as anniversary editions of The Reporter Newspaper. The materials digitized are either owned by the library or digitized with the permission of the owner. Chicago Ridge Public Library’s mission includes collecting, preserving, and providing access to the history of the village and its residents.

Chicago Ridge Online History Collection browse-->>

Chicago Ridge Public Library’s Online History Collection contains images and texts related to the people and places unique to the history of the village of Chicago Ridge, Illinois. The collection includes photographs, pamphlets, newsletters, brochures, scrapbook pages, interviews, narratives, artwork, and clippings from the Chicago Ridge Citizen Newspaper, as well as anniversary editions of The Reporter Newspaper. The materials digitized are either owned by the library or digitized with the permission of the owner. Chicago Ridge Public Library’s mission includes collecting, preserving, and providing access to the history of the village and its residents.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant awarded by the Illinois State Library, an Office of the Secretary of State using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act .

Coal Mining, Machine vs. Man browse-->>

Strip mining was a major source of employment and very important to the Wilmington Coal Field towns of Coal City, Braidwood, and Wilmington during the 1930's through the 1950's. The Wilmington Coal Field is located sixty miles south of Chicago. The growth of the city and its need for energy prompted the search for coal in this area. In the late 1800's and very early 1900's many of the small villages in the area were built. Due to the proximity of coal to the ground surface, shaft mining was dangerous and expensive. Strip mining was first introduced in the Danville, Illinois area in the mid 1800's and it was tried in the early 1900's in the Wilmington Coal Fields but it wasn't until the end of the 1920's that strip mining became commercially successful in this area.

This collection includes information on the mining process, how strip mining affected the communities and how they have recovered and continue to progress today. For more information about this project visit this link at the Coal City Public Library site.

Cornelia Neltnor Anthony and Frank D. Anthony Book Plate Collection browse-->>

Tthe West Chicago Public Library's digitized collection of book plates. The book plate collection was received in February 1935 as a gift from Cornelia Eames Anthony, who was part of a prominent family rooted in West Chicago. Cornelia Anthony was a formidable elocutionist providing dramatic readings to groups throughout the United States, but her greatest interest was in book plates. The book plate collection received by the West Chicago Public Library District was the result of Ms. Anthony's effort of collecting book plates over a 14-year time period. Her book plate collection consists of approximately 10,000 book plates, is international in scope, and was at one time considered by many librarians to be second only to that of the Library of Congress.

Deerfield Area History browse-->>

Local history images of Deerfield.

Des Plaines Area History browse-->>

Local history images of Des Plaines.

DeWitt County World War I Collection browse-->>

Letters and service records of men and women of DeWitt County who served in World War I.

Dimensions of Life in Mount Prospect  browse-->>

This collection includes photographs and descriptions of artifacts and large print items documenting the growth and transformation of the Mount Prospect area from the late 19th to late 20th century. These items reflect the agricultural, business, church and governmental activities of the villages' residents. The artifacts are from the collections of the Mount Prospect Historical Society and the Mount Prospect Public Library. This collection was made available by a grant from the office of Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White.

Early Years—Ernest and Marcelline Hemingway in Oak Park browse-->>

The Early Years—Ernest and Marcelline Hemingway in Oak Park is a collaboration between the Oak Park Public Library and the Ernest Hemingway Foundation of Oak Park. Images and artifacts include Ernest and his older sister Marcelline’s family, friends, and the communities that they grew up in. Documenting the first 19 years of Ernest’s and Marcelline’s lives, we can gain greater insight into Oak Park at the turn of the century through two of its own most famous residents.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a grant awarded by the Illinois State Library, a Department of the Office of Secretary of State using state grant funds.

Eisenhower Public Library Archives browse-->>

Images of Eisenhower Public Library and military service in Vietnam.

Ela Area Historical Society Photograph Collection browse-->>

Local history images from the Lake Zurich area.

Elgin Area History browse-->>

Collection of photographs and postcards related to the history of the Elgin area. Includes topics such as Sears houses in the area, the tornado of 1920, the Elgin Watch factory, and the Northern Illinois Hospital and Asylum for the Insane.

Elgin Community College History browse-->>

The institutional history of Elgin Community College.

Elisha Gray Reception and Banquet browse-->>

Elisha Gray was a resident of Highland Park, Illinois from 1871 until his death in 1901. An electrical engineer and inventor, Gray received more than 70 patents. He co-founded the Western Electric Company in 1872. Gray gave a public demonstration of the telephone at the Presbyterian Church in Highland Park in December 1874. On November 15, 1878, a banquet was held in Highland Park to honor Professor Gray, who many believed was the true inventor of the telephone. The Committee of Arrangements prepared a transcript of congratulatory remarks delivered at the event. The collection includes photographs of Professor Gray and his wife, and the Gray Electric Building, constructed in Highland Park in 1892.

Ella's Historical Collection browse-->>

From the time when the area was originally settled in the late 1830’s the district has been an inventive and progressive area. Towns have moved, car races have been organized, Lincoln Logs were produced and life has continued to move forward. The Historical Collection contains artifacts, documents, newspapers, books and pamphlets that chronicle the history of the communities the library serves

Ella's Historical Collection- Grand Army of the Republic, Post 453 browse-->>

The Grand Army of the Republic was an organization for Civil War Veterans that ran from 1866 until the death of its last member in 1956. Locally the organization was extremely active and the extensive collection of records left in the care of the library provides a first-hand account of the period and the people that shaped it.

Ella's Historical Collection-Images browse-->>

Images have been donated to the library as one of the single best methods of documenting the history of the communities within the library’s district. The collection of images today reflects aspects of everyday life from the communities of Hampshire, Burlington, Pingree Grove, Stark’s Corner as well as the outlying areas and other communities both past and present.

Ethnic Heritage Museum browse-->>

Local history images from the Rockford area.

Evanston Area History browse-->>

Local history images from the Evanston area.

Fenton High School browse-->>

The Fenton High School Collection features photographs of student life, faculty and facilities at Fenton High School District 100 dating from when the school opened in September 1955. For more information see www.fenton100.org.

Flora Digital Newspapers browse-->>

This project is the first phase of a multi-phase project to digitize the local newspaper which is currently on microfilm. Funding for this project was made possible by a grant awarded by the Illinois State Library, a Division of the Office of the Secretary of State, using funds provided by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), under the federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA).

The scope of this project covers approximately sixteen years, an estimated 7,800 pages, of early 20th century local newspapers that are currently on microfilm. These newspapers contain a wealth of local history information on businesses, individuals and events that is not available elsewhere.

The reels include: one reel with eight sporadic issues ranging from 1883-1917 (Southern Illinois Journal & Weekly Journal), two reels that contain most issues from 1907-1908 (Southern Illinois Journal), and thirteen reels covering most issues for Oct. 1912 through Dec. 1926 (Southern Illinois Record, Flora Record, and Flora Journal Record).

Fort Sheridan browse-->>

The Fort Sheridan Collection contains objects, photographs, and postcards dating from the 1890s to the 1980s, relating to military and civilian life at the former U.S. Army post.

For more information visit the Lake County History Archives web page.

Fountaindale Public Library Minutes browse-->>

Minutes of the Fountaindale Public Library, various dates, from the 1970s and 1980s.

Friends of Our Native Landscape Publications browse-->>

Founded by landscape architect Jens Jensen, Friends of Our Native Landscape was organized to promote the preservation and conservation of the natural environment. Its members were active in lobbying legislation to establish state parks. Their efforts led to the development of forest preserves and parks, such as Illinois State Beach and Indiana Dunes State Park.

Gail Borden Public Library History browse-->>

Collection of photographs of the Gail Borden Public Library from its location on Spring Street to its building at 270 N. Grove Avenue.

Galena Area Historic Photos browse-->>

The city of Galena, Illinois has a wealth of history. The Galena Public Library's Historical Collection works to preserve and share that history. The photographs in this collection range from portraits and views from the mid to late 19th century to photos of disasters and other events from the late 20th century. For more information, please contact The Galena Public Library at 815.777.0200 or by emailing info@galenalibrary.org.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a grant awarded by the Illinois State Library, a Department of the Office of Secretary of State using state grant funds.

Geneseo History browse-->>

Various historical images of Geneseo and Henry County.

Glencoe History browse-->>

Local history images of Glencoe.

Glenview Area History browse-->>

Local history images of Glenview.

Graham School of Nursing browse-->>

The celebration of the Graham Hospital School of Nursing’s 100th anniversary provided the impetus to begin a two-fold project documenting the history of the School through words and images. Images from the Past includes a digital collection of photographs and scanned documents found in the School Library’s historical collection. Voices from the Past includes the transcripts, cover sheets and audio clips resulting from more than eighty oral history interviews with graduates of the Graham three year diploma RN program located in Canton, IL. Both of these labors of love were made available through funding from the Illinois State Library and also the Greater Midwest Region of the National Library of Medicine. The results of these ongoing projects can be found here in the Illinois Digital Archive.

Henderson County Historical Society Museum browse-->>

The Museum contains collections in frontier life, the development of an emerging agricultural economy, one-room prairie schoolhouses, the impact of both World Wars on rural Illinois, and the westward migration of the American population during the 19th century. The collection of early 20th century home, school and working life includes a complete blacksmithing shop and one-room schoolhouse.

Highland Park History browse-->>

Highland Park was incorporated in 1869. Images in this collection record the community’s development.

Historic Champaign County - Neighborhoods and Homes browse-->>

Images of historic homes in Champaign County.

Historic Maps of Aurora browse-->>

The historic maps in this collection represent a unique historical resource. These maps show the physical changes and growth, over time, of Aurora. They also show changes in the city's political boundaries such as ward changes, street names, and, in some cases, building and business locations. Maps in this collection include:

1860 map of Kane County - this map is one of the earliest owned by the Aurora Historical Society and may be the earliest extant map of Kane County.

Aurora city maps dated 1859, 1868, 1872, 1876, 1884, and 1891 - these maps show the growth and development of Aurora, including street name and ward boundary changes.

"Aerial view" maps of Aurora, 1867 and 1882 - detailed artists' renderings showing streets, houses, and buildings.

Histories of Park Ridge browse-->>

Two history books about Park Ridge, Illinois: The History of Park Ridge, 1841-1926 by the Park Ridge Community Church Circle copyright 1926, and A History of Park Ridge by Orvis Jordan copyright 1961.

Huntley Area Dairy and Agricultural History browse-->>

This collection was created by the Huntley Area Public Library Local History Department and includes digitized materials that are part of our local history collection. This collection highlights Huntley’s dairy and agricultural heritage. This is an ongoing project. If you have additional information pertaining to items in this collection, please contact the Huntley Library Local History Department at 847.669.5386.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a grant awarded by the Illinois State Library, a Department of the Office of Secretary of State using state grant funds.

Huntley Area History browse-->>

This collection was created by the Huntley Area Public Library Local History Department and represents the first step in our initiative to digitize our collection. This is an ongoing project and we will be adding items continuously.

If you have additional information pertaining to items in this collection, please contact the Local History Department at 847.669.5386.

Huntley Area Newspapers browse-->>

The Huntley Farmside newspaper is featured in this digital collection from 1960 through 2000. The Farmside is a weekly Illinois newspaper providing news coverage on Huntley, Marengo, Union, and other local suburbs. High resolutions scans were made of the print archives of the Huntley Area Public Library with a grant awarded by the Illinois State Library (ISL), a Division of the Office of Secretary of State, using funds provided the by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), under the federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA).

Illinois and the Civil War - Documents browse-->>

Immediately following the capture of Fort Sumter, President Abraham Lincoln, on April 15, 1861, issued a call for 75,000 militia - thus putting an end to all speculation about whether there would be civil war. At this time, Illinois had no arms nor an effective militia force. Governor Richard Yates called a special session of the General Assembly to provide for the organization of six regiments - the Illinois quota under the President's order. By October of that year Illinois had forty-three regiments in service. From April 17, 1861 to April 30, 1865 Illinois furnished 256,297 men who served during the war. By the end of the war, 35,000 Illinois men died fighting to preserve the Union. (For a more in-depth look at Illinois during the Civil War, see the Illinois Blue Book, 1959-1960, "Illinois and the Civil War" by Clyde C. Walton, Illinois State Historian, pp. 16-45)

This collection contains full-text books and documents.

Illinois Blue Books browse-->>

The Illinois Blue Book is one of the most comprehensive sources of state government information. It is a nationally recognized source for information about Illinois' executive, judicial and legislative branches of government. Originating in 1861 as a privately published roster of legislators, the Blue Book has evolved into a historical publication complete with biographies, articles, illustrative photographs and helpful information for Illinois citizens. Recent issues of the Blue Book also include lists of toll-free state telephone numbers and updated listings for Illinois news media - including contact information.

This collection contains keyword/subject searchable versions of the Illinois Blue Book and the legislative directories that preceded them.

Illinois Centennial Business Collections browse-->>

The Illinois Centennial Business Collections features Illinois enterprises that have achieved or surpassed the century mark in continuous operation.

Illinois Constitution browse-->>

The first constitution of the State of Illinois (1818) was compiled mainly with provisions taken from the constitutions of Kentucky, Ohio, and Indiana. It was adopted by the delegates to the convention, but never submitted to the people of Illinois. This first constitution put virtually unlimited power in the hands of the Legislature while effectively keeping it away from the people.

In 1847, with an increase in the population, a movement began for calling a convention to "alter, amend, and revise" the constitution of 1818. The resulting constitution of 1848 was an improvement over the previous one, but still proved to be susceptible to abuses that encouraged greed of all kinds, which caused the Legislature to waste much time and attention, to the detriment of the public interest.

The Legislature of 1859 submitted a proposal, to hold a third constitutional convention, to a vote of the people. This proposal was endorsed in the election of 1860 and the convention convened in Springfield on January 7, 1862. According to law, the delegates to the convention were required to take an oath to support the state constitution, before starting the business of the convention. Unfortunately, the majority of the delegates not only refused to do this, but they assumed powers such as the right to interfere with military affairs - powers they did not have. This convention was soon termed a "high rolling convention", to the disgust of the people and their work was brought into disrepute. Once the delegates became aware that the convention was being severely criticized, they began to make a great effort to create a constitution acceptable to the people. The constitution was overwhelmingly defeated in the popular vote and matters left as they were until after the war.

Once the war was over and Reconstruction began, calls again began to be made for changes to the 1848 constitution. This need for constitutional changes was primarily based on the continuing growth in both population and economic complexity of Illinois. Because of the widespread belief that changes in the state constitution would affect improvements in the performance of Illinois state government, the constitution of 1870 was approved by a large majority and went into effect on August 8, 1870.

Until 1970, Illinois had five state conventions for the purpose of creating a state constitution. Of these, the 1818, 1847, and 1869-70 conventions adopted constitutions that went into effect, while the proposed constitutions framed by the conventions of 1862 and 1922 were rejected. Illinois government basically remained static from 1870 to 1970. The sixth constitutional convention, in 1970, produced a new constitution which was approved by voters on December 15, 1970.

This collection of full-text materials includes the text of all the Illinois constitutions.

Illinois Firefighter Line of Duty Deaths Digital Image Collection browse-->>

The Illinois Firefighter Line of Duty Deaths Digital Image Collection documents the ultimate sacrifice of Illinois firefighters who died in the line of duty over the past 150 years. Providing access to this history memorializes the firefighters, increases awareness of their sacrifice, and supplies contemporary firefighters with valuable "lessons learned" from the various deaths. Funding for this project was awarded by the Illinois State Library (ISL), a Division of the Office of Secretary of State, using funds provided by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), under the federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA). Additional information about these fallen firefighters, including summaries of the incidents where they were fatally injured, is available through IFLODD, the Illinois Firefighter Line of Duty Deaths Digital Image Collection Database

Illinois Historic Aerial Photographs, 1936-1941 browse-->>

On May 12, 1933, President Franklin D. Roosevelt signed into law the Agricultural Adjustment Act. This law was originally administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Adjustment Administration (USDA-AAA), and today the USDA-AAA is known as the USDA Farm Service Agency. Since the mid 1930s, the USDA-AAA and subsequently the USDA-FSA have periodically acquired nationwide aerial photography. Acquired on a county-by-county basis, this aerial photography was first used by the USDA to assess the nation's agricultural lands by estimating cropland acreages from measurements taken on the photographs. USDA-AAA aerial photography also served as the basis for the first national soil surveys.

In Illinois, first-time statewide coverage of USDA-AAA aerial photography was achieved between 1936-1941. This aerial photography is widely recognized in Illinois as a unique resource that represents the earliest photographic record of the cultural and physical landscape features of the entire state. It is intensively used by government agencies, surveyors, planners, consulting scientists and engineers, and other individuals for diverse purposes ranging from determination of past land uses to providing the basis for needs assessment studies in ecological restoration.

In Illinois, this USDA photography between the years of 1936-1941, is estimated to be 33,066 photographs. When the original 9"x 9" and 7"x 9" cellulose nitrate film negatives for these photographs were deemed a fire hazard, they were transferred to the National Archives and Records Administration in the 1960s and eventually destroyed, and high-quality photographic paper prints remain as the only physical record. Public access and continual use of library print collections for several decades has resulted in a significant number of the photographs becoming defaced, faded, worn, or lost. The Illinois State Library (ISL), the Illinois State Geological Survey (ISGS), and other libraries have collaborated on scanning these photographs in order to complete a digital archive that will provide a comprehensive photographic record of the early twentieth century for the entire state. As a result of previous contracts and grants, more than one-half of the print collection has already been digitized, and on-line Internet access is available at the Illinois Historical Aerial Photography (ILHAP) web site (http://www.isgs.uiuc.edu/nsdihome/webdocs/ilhap/). Once a statewide digital archive is established, it will reduce and eventually eliminate the need for patrons to regularly handle the original paper prints. Furthermore, placing the digitized photographs on-line ensures the most widespread access to potential user groups and reduces the pressure on the print collections residing at libraries within the state.

Illinois Libraries browse-->>

ILLINOIS LIBRARIES was the official journal of the Illinois State Library. The purpose of ILLINOIS LIBRARIES was to disseminate articles of general interest to library staff and library governing officials in Illinois who represent all types of libraries and library consortia. The publication began in 1919. The years 1995 to 2000 can be found at Illinois Periodicals Online - http://www.lib.niu.edu/illistyrs.html

Various years from 2001- to the end of publication in 2007 can be found at EDI http://iledi.org/ppa/meta/html/00/00/00/00/01/78.html

Illinois State Fair Museum browse-->>

The first Illinois State Fair opened on October 11, 1853 with an admission of 25 cents. The attractions included cattle, horses, and sheep venues, among displays of reapers, mowers, farming tools, and a variety of corn planters. On the third day, over 15,000 people attended. The fair was a success, netting $853 in profits with $1500 in premiums paid out to prize-winning exhibits. There were a total of 765 entries in all areas.

For the next 40 years, the Illinois State Fair was hosted by twelve different cities including Freeport, Chicago, Alton and Olney. It settled permanently in Springfield in 1894. During World War II, from 1941 to 1945, no fairs were held. During this time the fairgrounds were used as a supply base for the Army Air Force.

After the war, the major agricultural fairs in the United States underwent a subtle transition. At that time agriculture became more mechanized, more efficient, with bigger farms and greater production per acre while the size of the rural population was shrinking and the rural youth migrating to urban centers. Major fairs, Illinois included, began increasing exhibits on modern living, on industry and labor, on education and entertainment for the general public.

In 1965 the Illinois Legislature passed an act creating the Illinois State Fair Agency. The main purpose of the Agency remained what had been the goal of the Fair throughout its history: to promote improved methods of agriculture, encourage increased yields and the raising of improved breeds of livestock, and to acquaint farmers with the latest implements and machinery. The Fair was also charged with exhibiting and promoting the activities of Illinois in the fields of industry, labor and education.

Illinois State Highway Maps browse-->>

The history of the Illinois state highway map was written by Ron Peddicord and published as “The Evolution of the Illinois Official Highway Map, 1917 to 1992” in Illinois GIS&MapNotes, v. 11, no. 2, Summer 1993, p. 2-12. In that article, Ron details the evolution of printing in black and white versus color and on one side versus both sides, the change in the line and point symbols showing roads and other types of information, the different cartographic companies making the map, and other facets of its history. Ron also states that the Illinois State Library owns one of the two definitive collections of the Illinois state highway map. This historic run is so valuable for so many purposes that the State Library map staff chose to scan the state highway map as one of its first web map access projects. The State Library holds the Governors/Div. of Highways/IDOT version as well as the Secretary of State’s version but only the Secretary of State’s version was scanned except for some years, such as the 1950’s and 1960’s, when only a Div. of Highways version was published.

The description of some of the cover images of the official map can be found at http://www.idot.illinois.gov/transportation-system/Network-Overview/highway-system/official-highway-map-collection However, the full map, front and back, has never been available on the web before. Starting in 1917, when the roads were trails and were named instead of numbered, through the early years of Rt. 66, the beginning of the interstate highway system, to the present day, one can watch the Pontiac Trail become Rt. 66 and then fade into memory as I-55 erases Rt. 66.

The web version of the images is JPEG2000. Upon request, the State Library map staff can send a TIFF version or can make a full-scale color paper copy.

Illinois State Library -- General Collection browse-->>

This collection includes full-text materials in numerous subject areas.

Illinois Veterans' History Project browse-->>

On October 27, 2000 President Bill Clinton signed into law Public Law 106-380 establishing the Veterans' History Project. This law charged the Library of Congress with the responsibility of collecting and preserving the wartime memories of our nation's veterans and those civilians who supported the war efforts.

The Illinois Secretary of State's office has been a partner with the Library of Congress in the Veterans' History project since November 2003 and officially launched the Illinois Veterans' History Project in November 2005. The Illinois Veterans' History Project began with the collection of written information about Illinois veterans through use of the Illinois Patriot Information Form. In September 2007 the Secretary of State's office entered the next phase of the project, collecting oral histories of Illinois veterans. These histories will now be available through the Illinois Digital Archives.

Itasca Community Library Historical Collection browse-->>

Experience the history of Itasca through historical photographs and images from the early days of the village in the mid-1890s through the 20th century.

Itasca Community Library People & Places browse-->>

Experience the history of Itasca through historical photographs and images from the early days of the village in the mid-1890s through the 20th century.

Itasca Fire Department browse-->>

This is a collection of photographs of equipment used by the Itasca Fire Department and people who worked at the Itasca Fire Department through the 20th century.

Itasca Railroad Depot & Museum browse-->>

Dr. Elijah Smith founded Itasca and donated his own land for the railroad right of way and the $400 to build the Itasca Depot in 1873. The Itasca Depot served as the Itasca train station from 1873-1976.

In 1976, a new station was built directly next to the original. Once the new station was completed, the 103 year-old station was slated to be demolished. The Itasca Historical Society rallied and saved the depot from this fate. It was moved on December 6, 1976, down Irving Park Road 864 feet to its current location. Since then it has served at the Itasca Historical Depot Museum.

Jewish Sentinel browse-->>

Collection Provided by Spertus Institute for Jewish Learning and Leadership

The Sentinel was the premier Jewish weekly in Chicago. Published from 1911 to 1996, The Sentinel reflected the changing Chicago Jewish community, covering not only local issues, but also national and international Jewish news. Available on this site are the 2,029 digitized issues representing thirty-nine years of The Sentinelfrom 1911-1949. Made available by Spertus Institute for Jewish Learning and Leadership

John Fischetti Editorial Cartoon Collection browse-->>

John Fischetti (1918-1980) was a political cartoonist who drew for publications such as the Chicago Sun, Chicago Daily News, Chicago Sun-Times, The New York Times, The New York Herald Tribune, and Stars and Stripes, among many other publications. A syndicated cartoonist, Fischetti reached a national audience and won the Pulitzer Prize for political cartooning in 1969, on the strength of his work covering the 1968 riots in Chicago surrounding the Democratic National Convention. As a long-time Chicagoan, his work touched on local issues, such as Richard J. Daley and his “cohorts”, but also addressed national issues such as the Watergate scandal, the energy crisis, and terrorism, among others.

Joliet Public Library Firebombing browse-->>

On April 19, 1989, the Joliet Public Library was firebombed, destroying the non-fiction section of the children's area, closing the entire library for 9 days, and closing the children's section for several months.

These are images from the immediate aftermath.

Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society browse-->>

The Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society contains articles on every facet of Illinois history. The mission of the Illinois State Historical Society, founded in 1899, is to foster awareness, understanding, research, preservation and recognition of history in Illinois.

This selection of article titles illustrates the diversity of subjects covered by the Journal:

  • British Coal Miners: A Demographic Study of Braidwood and Streator, Illinois
  • The Socialist Party of America in Municipal Politics: Canton, Illinois, 1901-1920
  • John Brown White and Early Women’s Education: A History of Almira College
  • Thomas Sharp and Anti-Mormon Sentiment in Illinois, 1842-1845
Kewanee and Wethersfield Yearbooks browse-->>

Kewanee Public Library District was awarded an LSTA FY09 Digital Imaging grant. Thanks to this funding the library was able to digitize 162 volumes of both Kewanee and Wethersfield high schools entire collections of yearbooks dated from 1904 up to 2008. Due to grant restrictions each year after 2002 will be uploaded and added one at a time. The "PictureIt! Global Gallery" digital imaging grant has created worldwide access to a collection that was once available only to library visitors.

Lake County Materials browse-->>

The Lake County History Archives provides access to primary and secondary source materials documenting the history of Lake County, Illinois.

The online collections include: Civil War era letters, diaries, and photographs from the Minto Family, 1918 school histories written by 7th and 8th grade students in celebration of the Illinois Centennial, World War II pamphlets, sheet music, photographs taken by Gordon Ray of Diamond Lake circa 1908 – 1945, and The Rays homespun newsletter produced from 1943 to 1946 by Lloyd Ray of Diamond Lake.

Lake Forest Academy and Ferry Hall Archives browse-->>

Lake Forest Academy (LFA) was established in 1857 as the boys’ preparatory department of Lind University (later renamed Lake Forest University). The girls’ preparatory department was added in 1869; it was called the “Young Ladies’ Seminary at Ferry Hall” until 1887 when it became known simply as Ferry Hall. In 1925 both LFA and Ferry Hall legally separated from Lake Forest College, becoming independent secondary educational institutions. In 1974, LFA and Ferry Hall merged into one coeducational independent school called Lake Forest Academy- Ferry Hall. In 1988, the school dropped the name “Ferry Hall” and continued as Lake Forest Academy.

LFA was originally located on the campus of Lake Forest College, but in 1946 a fire destroyed the main Academy building. The school purchased the former Lake Forest estate of J. Ogden Armour, and converted it into a school campus. The school continues to use this campus today.

The Lake Forest Academy and Ferry Hall Archives Collection consists of historical images dating back to the 19th century, documenting school life, academics, athletics, campus buildings, and significant persons and events in the school’s history. The images are digitized from a wide variety of materials: administrative records; school catalogs and publications; photographs; yearbooks; diaries; scrapbooks; and school newspapers. For further information about the collection, please contact the archivist at Lake Forest Academy.

Lake Forest Library Archives browse-->>

Selected Lake Forest places of architectural significance are represented in this collection of photos, postcards, articles, and reports.

Libertyville History browse-->>

Enjoy selected items from the archives of the Libertyville-Mundelein Historical Society, including postcards and photographs of early Libertyville, telephone books, wedding dresses, and mail order houses.

Lincoln and Lincoln-Related Documents from the Illinois State Archives browse-->>

The Illinois State Archives serves by law as the depository of public records of Illinois state and local governmental agencies. This collection consists of official state documents that relate to Abraham Lincoln or his family. They include records from Lincoln’s tenure in the General Assembly (1834-1841) and correspondence with various state officials and many of them were written by Lincoln himself.

Lisle Area History browse-->>

Images of the community history of Lisle

Living Museum browse-->>

The Living Museum has for decades been a rich source of information on Illinois art, natural history, anthropology, and history. This online project does not replace the print version of The Living Museum but makes this popular educational resource also accessible electronically to students, teachers, researchers, and others throughout the world. The Living Museum, a quarterly journal of the Illinois State Museum, is available without charge. To subscribe, contact editor@museum.state.il.us. For more information on the Illinois State Museum, see http://www.museum.state.il.us

Madison County Genealogical Resources browse-->>

The creation of this collection serves to preserve and give access to a wealth of information about Madison County history. It contains keyword searchable versions of:

  • Cemeteries and Tombstone Inscriptions of Madison County, Illinois
  • Glenwood Cemetery, Collinsville, Illinois: A Preliminary Study of Burials, 1922
  • St. Joseph Cemetery, Highland, Illinois
  • Illustrated Encyclopedia and Atlas Map of Madison County, Illinois, 1873
  • New Atlas of Madison County, State of Illinois, 1892
  • Standard Atlas of Madison County, 1906
  • Naturalizations and Intentions of Madison County, Illinois: An Index, 1816-1900
  • History of Madison County, Illinois, 1882
  • A Complete Surname Index to the Historybof Madison County, Illinois, 1882
  • Portrait and Biographical Record of Madison County, Illinois, 1894
  • Index of Biographical Sketches, Madison County, Illinois
Mel Tierney Post Servicemens' File browse-->>

A collection of over 1460 index cards, some with newspaper articles, about Park Ridge residents who served during World War II. The Mel Tierney American Legion Post in Park Ridge collected the information during the war. Although this is a large collection, we are unable to confirm that it includes all Park Ridge residents who served in World War II.

Mercury Studio Collection browse-->>

The Mercury Studio collection consists of thousands of photograph negatives taken for the years 1946 to the 1990s. The majority of the images were taken during the 1960s and 1970s. The collection was first started by Walter Bubnis and eventually was purchased by James Woodruff. The Sangamon Valley Collection acquired this collection after Woodruff's death in 2004. The collection consists of a variety of images including street scenes, businesses, weddings, conventions, portraits and social events. For further information, please contact Lincoln Library.

Metamora Herald Image Collection browse-->>

Metamora Herald Newspaper Image Collection includes wedding announcements, engagement announcements, anniversaries, sports teams, community activities, 4-H Fair activities and school activities. Published since December 20, 1889 until July 7, 2011, the newspaper covered the Illinois towns of Spring Bay, Washburn, Roanoke, Benson, Germantown Hills, Cazenovia, and Low Point as well as the village of Metamora.

Midway Village & Museum Center browse-->>

In 1968, Midway Village Museum was organized for the purpose of collecting, preserving and interpreting the history of the Rockford area. This collection contains images from their collections.

Mining and Mother Jones in Mount Olive browse-->>

"Pray for the dead and fight like hell for the living", her words still inspire labor organizers, but who was Mother Jones? Mary Harris "Mother" Jones, known as the Miners' Angel, was once described by West Virginia District Attorney Reese Blizzard as "...the most dangerous woman in the world." She described herself in these words: "I'm not a humanitarian, I'm a hell-raiser." In reality, she was all of these things and more in her role as one of the foremost labor organizers of the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

She claimed to have been born in Cork, Ireland on May 1, 1830. Although a recent (2001) biography by Elliot Gorn states that she was actually born on August 7, 1837. It is unclear why she changed the date of her birth to make it earlier. In 1867, she lost her husband and children in a yellow fever epidemic and in 1871, she lost everything she owned in the great Chicago Fire. It was at this time that she became involved with the newly-formed Knights of Labor and began traveling around the country working for or with labor.

Her growing interest in labor union issues and radical politics led her to become active as a radical labor organizer. Some of the activities in which she was involved include: 1877, helped with the Pittsburgh railway strike; after 1890, became involved in the struggles of coal miners and became an organizer for the United Mine Workers; 1898, helped found the Social Democrat Party; 1899, organized the coalfields of Pennsylvania; 1905, was present at the founding of the Industrial Workers of the World.

This small collection includes photographs of mines and mine workers from Mount Olive as well as some Mother Jones memorabilia - including the letter she wrote to the miners of Mount Olive, requesting that "I hope it will be my consolation when I pass away to feel I sleep under the clay with those brave boys." Mother Jones died on November 30, 1930 and is buried in the Union Miners Cemetery at Mount Olive, Illinois. Her grave is near that of "those brave boys" she referred to - the victims of the Virden mine riot of 1898.

Mitchell Museum of the American Indian browse-->>

Collections of the Mitchell Museum of the American Indian

Morton Arboretum -- Sterling Morton Library browse-->>

Collections of the Sterling Morton Library at the Morton Arboretum

Mount Prospect History browse-->>

This collection includes items related to the history of the village of Mount Prospect and some of the surrounding area. Businesses, churches, government agencies, organizations, residents, and schools are represented by photographs, newspaper clippings, oral histories, documents and ephemera. Most of the items are from the Mount Prospect Historical Society but items from the collections of the Mount Prospect Public Library and other area groups are also included.

Mount Prospect Library History browse-->>

The Mount Prospect Public Library collection includes documents, photographs, and ephemera related to the history and development of the Mount Prospect Public Library from the 1930s to the present. Among these are photographs of each the building the Library has used and the contents of the cornerstone from the first permanent library home built in 1950. Most of the materials are from the archives and local history files of the Mount Prospect Public Library.

Music of the First World War browse-->>

The First World War is considered to be the most musical of all of America's wars. This exhibit uses optical musical recognition software to digitize the World War I sheet music in the collection of the Pritzker Military Museum & Library and added it as playable .mp3, MIDI, and AIFF files.

Naperville Heritage Collection browse-->>

The Naperville Heritage Collection features books, pictures and films held by Naper Settlement and the Naperville Public Library. The collection includes telephone directories covering most years from 1909-1960, City Council minutes from 1857-1935, church histories and a number of DuPage County and Naperville history books.

Settled by Captain Joseph Naper and his family in June 1831, Naperville, Illinois is the oldest city in DuPage County. It has grown from prairie wilderness to pioneer village to prosperous city through the efforts of its citizens, natural resources, transportation links, and proximity to the city of Chicago. Various celebrations of historic milestones have helped document the growth of the city and its progress. Naperville citizens have taken pride in their civic improvements, schools, libraries, and variety of businesses, churches, and community organizations, while watching their city become the fifth largest in Illinois.

For the historian and the genealogist, sources from the Naperville Heritage Collection will help identify land plats, farm families and their descendants, early businesses, development of the Centennial and Sesquicentennial memorial gifts to Naperville, the growth of city services and its three libraries, and listings of early telephone subscribers. Publications for the Home Coming in 1917 and the Centennial in 1931 provide timelines of important events and profiles of prominent citizens and leaders. Naperville celebrated its 175th anniversary in 2006, and looks back to the accomplishments of the Centennial of 1931 and Sesquicentennial of 1981 through books, pamphlets, slides, and films in this collection of sources. A history of DuPage County reveals the role of Joseph Naper and his associates in carving out DuPage County from Cook County in 1839 and establishing Naperville as its first county seat.

Native American Collection -- McLean County Museum of History and ISU browse-->>

The McLean County Museum of History offers access to a wide range of Native American objects. The collection includes pre-historic lithics and pottery fragments found in Central Illinois used in farming, hunting, and food processing. The collection also contains objects obtained through trade with early European settlers and made by Kickapoo and other Native Americans for use in daily life.

Collection highlights include artifacts gathered from archeological excavations at the Grand Village of the Kickapoo and Kickapoo Stockade, photographs taken at the Kickapoo Reservation in Horton Kansas in 1906, and manuscripts and documents relating to the Kickapoo People collected by Milo Custer. Additional highlights include artifacts excavated from archeological work conducted at the French and Fox Indian battle location known as the Arrowsmith Battlefield. You can also view lithics and pottery fragments from the Woodland and Mississippian eras.

Niles Public Library Archives browse-->>

Images from the development of the Niles Public Library

North Suburban Library District Local History Collection browse-->>

In 1994 the Friends of North Suburban Library formed a local history committee. Since that time they have collected scrapbooks, photographs, maps, yearbooks, diaries, letters and other memorabilia documenting the history of the communities that surround Rockford, Illinois: Loves Park, Machesney Park and Roscoe. Included in the collection presented here are images from the Harlem School District, Harlem Village in the late 19th century, and the Lusk collection of buildings. Photographs of farms and businesses that represent important developments in the community are also featured. The minutes of the Roscoe Women's Christian Temperance Union and the Roscoe Literary Club, in the late 19th century, afford a sense of the community at the time.

These are historical images of Loves Park, Machesney Park and Roscoe.

Northbrook Area History browse-->>

The Northbrook Area History collection features photographs from Northbrook School District 28. The collection's photographs date back to the early 1930's and span the District's history of over 100 years. The photographs include students and faculty from the now-closed Crestwood and Oaklane Schools. Also featured are many photographs from the District's four current schools - Northbrook Junior High School, Greenbriar School, Meadowbrook School, and Westmoor School. The scenes show the District's evolution, including the adoption of new teaching styles, curriculum, and technology. For more information about Northbrook School District 28, please see: www.northbrook28.net

O'Hare Digital Collection browse-->>

The Bensenville Community Public Library has, over the past three decades, collected a substantial amount of material dealing with the transformation of Douglas Field from a World War II aircraft manufacturing facility into O'Hare International Airport. Contained within this collection are letters, press releases, governmental resolutions, photographs and other historic documents. These materials may help the researcher understand O'Hare’s development into a national transportation center, its impact on the ecology of northern Illinois, and the consequences of various expansion plans on the quality of life in Chicago's western suburbs.

For more information, visit the Bensenville Community Public Library site.

Oak Ridge Cemetery Interment Records browse-->>

Established in 1856, Oak Ridge Cemetery in Springfield, Illinois, is the largest cemetery in Illinois in land area (365 acres). More than seventy thousand people are interred in this historic cemetery. With more than 2.5 million visitors each year, it is the second most-visited cemetery in the United States.

Each entry includes the name of the deceased; the date of death; age at death; cause of death; a designation of the grave location, through a combination of block, lot, range, and grave numbers; place of birth; and remarks.

Note: The text of each volume is searchable (within the volume) by name, year of death, and cause of death.

These records were made available through the collaborative efforts of the Sangamon Valley Collection at Lincoln Library, Oak Ridge Cemetery, the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library, and the Papers of Abraham Lincoln.

Oral Histories of Centralia browse-->>

In 1975 a project to commemorate the American Revolution Bicentennial was undertaken by the Centralia Public Library. The result is this collection of oral histories created by local residents who talk about their personal experiences and their family histories. Topics covered include: Education, railroading, oil industry, mining (including the story of the Number 5 mine disaster), agriculture, businesses, churches, and ethnic groups.

Oral History Collection of the University of Illinois at Springfield browse-->>

The Oral History Collection at UIS consists primarily of material collected by the Sangamon State University Oral History Office from 1971 to 1991. Some oral history memoirs have been added in recent years by volunteers and UIS graduate history students. The collection includes the memoirs of a wide array of people including: coal miners; members of the African-American, Italian-American, Jewish, and other ethnic communities in central Illinois; Illinois legislators and politicians; farm families; WWII conscientious objectors and prisoners of war; members of Springfield churches and clubs; teachers in rural one room schools; and many others.

The collection is a vital record of life in Illinois and beyond from the late 19th century to the present, and preserves the memories of many individuals whose experiences would not otherwise be recorded.

This oral history collection is housed in Archives/Special Collections at Brookens Library, University of Illinois at Springfield. A guide to collection may be found at http://library.uis.edu/archives/collections/oral/contents.html

Orland Park History browse-->>

The digitized collection of photographs and texts are related to the Orland Park Library’s special collection, NASA archives and history of the Orland Park area. It includes topics such as Orland Park Community Guide in the area, Orland Park Community profile from the community development department, Village of Orland Park, NASA transfer bag, Replica Philadelphia Inquirer Newspaper about NASA, Apollo 17 Pre-launch.

Park Forest -- An Illinois Planned Community browse-->>

Park Forest began in 1946 as a dream held by Carroll F. Sweet, Sr., to build a "G.I. Town" for returning veterans. Due to the lack of building during the Depression and World War II, the returning veterans and their young families faced a severe housing shortage. Carroll F. Sweet, Sr., introduced Nathan Manilow, a Chicago builder to Philip M. Klutznick, who was working in Washington D.C. as head of the Federal Public Housing Authority. Both men thought the dream was worth bringing to reality. The result was the first post-World War II planned community to include a shopping center and all of the amenities of modern life built in to the original plan. The plan was turned in to FHA in November 1946. Move-ins began in August 1948. On February 1, 1949, at the suggestion of the builders, Park Forest was incorporated as a village. By October 1949, 3,010 rental units had been completed. Construction of "For Sale" homes was begun by 1950.

Peoria Postcards browse-->>

Postcards of images of Peoria.

Pieces of Park Ridge browse-->>

Park Ridge’s history includes everyone from government to businesses to the citizens themselves. In the library’s Heritage Room, we already had some photographs and papers, but we knew it was just a small piece of the historical puzzle. We contacted City Hall, the Fire Department, and the Historical Society to begin pulling together this digital collection. Then we broadened the collection’s range to include local churches, the Youth Campus, and the Pickwick Theatre. Finally, through an article in the Park Ridge Herald-Advocate newspaper, we called upon the local businesses and people of Park Ridge to share their items with us. Making this incredible collection available allows people access to items they might have had trouble gathering on their own, might never have known existed, or might never have gotten to see or handle due to some items’ fragile conditions. The Library greatly appreciates the willingness of private donors to make their items available. The Park Ridge Juniors Foundation and the Park Ridge Community Bank provided funding for this project.

Plainfield Public Library District browse-->>

Items represent collections within the Plainfield Historical Society, Plainfield Public Library, Shorewood-Troy Public Library District, and the Will County Recorder of Deeds office and include index books, plat atlases, glass plate negatives and newspapers spanning 125 years of Plainfield and Will County history from the 1830s to the 1950s. The Will County Grantor/Grantee indexes comprise over 250,000 entries of property transactions from 1836-1885. Original records are held at the Will County Recorder of Deeds Office in Joliet, Illinois.

Polo Area Cemetery Records of Ogle, Lee, Carroll and Whiteside Counties browse-->>

This collection consists of cemetery records dating to the 1850's. Volunteer members of the Polo Historical Society walked through each of the individual cemeteries and recorded information from stones and markers.

Postcards -- Chicago browse-->>

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection Chicago collection includes the Grant B. Schmalgemeier Century of Progress collection and postcards printed by Curt Teich & Company (1898 – 1978), V.O Hammon Publishing Company (1904 – 1923), and the Detroit Publishing Company (ca. 1900 – 1924).

For more information, visit the Newberry web page (http://newberry.org/curt-teich-postcard-archives-collection).

Postcards -- From Route 66 browse-->>

The James R. Powell Route 66 Collection consists of printed and real photograph postcards of the highway and roadside architecture, mainly dating from the mid-1920s through the 1960s.

Postcards -- General View browse-->>

Various postcards from the Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection.

For more information, visit the Newberry web page (http://newberry.org/curt-teich-postcard-archives-collection).

Postcards -- Illinois browse-->>

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection Illinois collection includes postcards printed by Curt Teich & Company (1898 - 1978), V.O Hammon Publishing Company (1904 - 1923), and the Detroit Publishing Company (ca. 1900 - 1924).

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection was donated to the Newberry Library by the Lake County Forest Preserve District in 2016.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant awarded to the Lake County Discovery Museum, Lake County Forest Preserve District by the Illinois State Library, an Office of the Secretary of State using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.

For more information, visit the Newberry web page().

Postcards -- International browse-->>

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection International collection includes postcards printed by Curt Teich & Company (1898 - 1978), V.O Hammon Publishing Company (1904 - 1923), and the Detroit Publishing Company (ca. 1900 - 1924).

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection was donated to the Newberry Library by the Lake County Forest Preserve District in 2016.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant awarded to the Lake County Discovery Museum, Lake County Forest Preserve District by the Illinois State Library, an Office of the Secretary of State using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.

For more information, visit the Newberry web page().

Postcards -- Midwest (NE,IA,IN,OH,KS,MO) browse-->>

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection Midwest collection includes postcards printed by Curt Teich & Company (1898 – 1978), V.O Hammon Publishing Company (1904 – 1923), and the Detroit Publishing Company (ca. 1900 – 1924).

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection was donated to the Newberry Library by the Lake County Forest Preserve District in 2016.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant awarded to the Lake County Discovery Museum, Lake County Forest Preserve District by the Illinois State Library, an Office of the Secretary of State using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.

For more information, visit the Newberry web page(http://newberry.org/curt-teich-postcard-archives-collection).

Postcards -- Northeast (ME,VT,NH,MA,RI,NY,CT,PA,DE,MD & DC) browse-->>

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection Northeast collection includes postcards printed by Curt Teich & Company (1898 – 1978), V.O Hammon Publishing Company (1904 – 1923), and the Detroit Publishing Company (ca. 1900 – 1924).

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection was donated to the Newberry Library by the Lake County Forest Preserve District in 2016.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant awarded to the Lake County Discovery Museum, Lake County Forest Preserve District by the Illinois State Library, an Office of the Secretary of State using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.

For more information, visit the Newberry web page(http://newberry.org/curt-teich-postcard-archives-collection).

Postcards -- Northern Midwest (ND,SD,MN,WI,MT) browse-->>

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection Northern Midwest collection includes postcards printed by Curt Teich & Company (1898 – 1978), V.O Hammon Publishing Company (1904 – 1923), and the Detroit Publishing Company (ca. 1900 – 1924).

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection was donated to the Newberry Library by the Lake County Forest Preserve District in 2016.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant awarded to the Lake County Discovery Museum, Lake County Forest Preserve District by the Illinois State Library, an Office of the Secretary of State using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.

For more information, visit the Newberry web page(http://newberry.org/curt-teich-postcard-archives-collection).

Postcards -- Northwest (WA,OR,MT.ID,WY,AK) browse-->>

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection Northwest collection includes postcards printed by Curt Teich & Company (1898 - 1978), V.O Hammon Publishing Company (1904 - 1923), and the Detroit Publishing Company (ca. 1900 - 1924).

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection was donated to the Newberry Library by the Lake County Forest Preserve District in 2016.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant awarded to the Lake County Discovery Museum, Lake County Forest Preserve District by the Illinois State Library, an Office of the Secretary of State using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.

For more information, visit the Newberry web page().

Postcards -- Raphael Tuck & Sons browse-->>

The Leonard A. Lauder Collection consists of more than 35,500 Raphael Tuck & Sons postcards, mainly the Oilette series. The Tuck Company began operating in England in 1866, and started printing picture postcards in 1894. Oilette postcards, introduced in 1903, were described in Tuck catalogs as "veritable miniature oil paintings". They encompass a great variety of subject matter including city and state views, literary scenes, and still lifes.

The Leonard A. Lauder Collection was donated as part of the Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection to the Newberry Library by the Lake County Forest Preserve District in 2016.

Funding for the digitization of this collection was generously provided by Leonard A. Lauder.

For more information, visit the Newberry web page(http://newberry.org/curt-teich-postcard-archives-collection).

Postcards -- South Midwest (TX,OK,AR,LA) browse-->>

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection South Midwest collection includes postcards printed by Curt Teich & Company (1898 - 1978), V.O Hammon Publishing Company (1904 - 1923), and the Detroit Publishing Company (ca. 1900 - 1924).

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection was donated to the Newberry Library by the Lake County Forest Preserve District in 2016.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant awarded to the Lake County Discovery Museum, Lake County Forest Preserve District by the Illinois State Library, an Office of the Secretary of State using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.

For more information, visit the Newberry web page().

Postcards -- Southeast (KY,WV,VA,NC,TN,SC,GA,AL,MS,FL) browse-->>

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection Southeast collection includes postcards printed by Curt Teich & Company (1898 - 1978), V.O Hammon Publishing Company (1904 - 1923), and the Detroit Publishing Company (ca. 1900 - 1924).

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection was donated to the Newberry Library by the Lake County Forest Preserve District in 2016.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant awarded to the Lake County Discovery Museum, Lake County Forest Preserve District by the Illinois State Library, an Office of the Secretary of State using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.

For more information, visit the Newberry web page().

Postcards -- Southwest (CA,NV,UT,CO,AZ,NM,HI) browse-->>

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection Southwest collection includes postcards printed by Curt Teich & Company (1898 – 1978), V.O Hammon Publishing Company (1904 – 1923), and the Detroit Publishing Company (ca. 1900 – 1924).

The Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection was donated to the Newberry Library by the Lake County Forest Preserve District in 2016.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant awarded to the Lake County Discovery Museum, Lake County Forest Preserve District by the Illinois State Library, an Office of the Secretary of State using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.

For more information, visit the Newberry web page (http://newberry.org/curt-teich-postcard-archives-collection).

Postcards on postcards browse-->>

A collection of postcards from the John I. Monroe Collection related to postcard shops, postcard shows, and postcard collecting.

The John I. Monroe Collection was donated as part of the Curt Teich Postcard Archives Collection to the Newberry Library by the Lake County Forest Preserve District in 2016.

Funding for the digitization of this collection was generously provided by John Monroe.

For more information, visit the Newberry web page().

Prospect Heights Community Newsletters browse-->>

Community Newsletters from Prospect Heights.

Proviso Township Herald browse-->>

The Melrose Park Public Library digitized copies of our local newspaper, The Herald, from the WWII years of 1941-1945. These papers depict life during the war years for the residents of not only Melrose Park, but neighboring communities including Maywood, Bellwood, Forest Park, Stone Park, Hillside and Westchester.

Pullman State Historic Site browse-->>

The Pullman State Historic Site museum (http://www.pullman-museum.org) focuses on their special collection archive of images and information relating to Pullman and Roseland history. The grant project focuses on Pullman's industrial and labor history featuring historic photographs of the 1881 Pullman Palace Car Company, George Pullman's Town of Pullman, and the town of Roseland; related maps and other materials are also included.

The Pullman Company continued its transportation activities into the 1980s and the selection will include visuals representing all the eras of Pullman production. It will include images from well-known Pullman photographers, including Henry R. Koopman. J. W. Taylor, Thomas S. Johnson, John P. Van Vorst, and Melvin C. Horn. Many of the visuals illuminate the lives of the workers in the Town of Pullman and the community of Roseland as well as showcase the Pullman factory and its historic train cars.

Pumpkins, Parades and Pies- Eureka's Pumpkin Festival Past, 1939 - 1961 browse-->>

The Eureka Pumpkin Festival, which was held in Eureka between 1939 and 1961, was a community event to support local businesses, promote tourism, and honor Eureka's Libby, McNeil, and Libby canning factory. The festival was immensely popular and regularly averaged at least 50,000 attendees from all over Illinois and the Midwest. In 1947 film star and Eureka College alumnus Ronald Reagan and Illinois Governor Dwight Green attended, drawing national attention and record crowds. This digital collection features photographs, memorabilia and other items pertaining to the festival from various public and private collections.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a grant awarded by the Illinois State Library, a Department of the Office of Secretary of State using state grant funds.

Quincy Area Historic Photo Collection browse-->>

The Quincy Area Historic Photo Collection includes more than three thousand historical images covering more than a century of life in the Quincy area. The collection includes images of people, businesses, churches, entertainment, government, homes, and street scenes from the 1830s forward.

The photo collection documents a growing city that played a significant role in Illinois history. Quincy was first settled by John Wood in 1821, and became the county seat when Adams County was formed in 1825. Quincy gave refuge to Mormons during the winter of 1838-1839, and local abolitionists helped slaves on the Underground Railroad. Quincy was the site of the sixth Lincoln-Douglas debate during the Senate race of 1858.

By 1870, Quincy had become the second largest city in Illinois with a population of 24,000. Many businesses and industries had their start in Quincy such as Collins Plow Company, Comstock-Castle Stove Company, E.M. Miller Carriage Company, Gardner Denver Incorporated, Gates Radio Company, Irwin Paper Company, and Moorman Manufacturing Company. The R.G. Dun & Co.’s official report of June 29, 1889 stated, “That Quincy manufactures more steam governors, more omnibuses, more show cases and more hay presses than any other one city in America is a fact worthy of note.” Robert W. Gardener’s 1860 invention harnessing steam, led to the Gardner Governor Company, now Gardner Denver.

The Quincy of today, which was named an All-American City in 1963 and again in 1985, is a modern and progressive industrial city in the heart of a large and fertile agricultural area. Present manufacturers include: electronic equipment, air compressors, industrial pumps, mining and oil drilling equipment, stoves, wheels, truck and trailer bodies, mineral foods and stock preparations, as well as vegetable oils and various dairy products.

The initial 2008 project was made possible by a grant from the Library Services and Technology Act, administered through a competitive grant program by the Illinois State Library.

Railroad Maps of Illinois browse-->>

As a crossroads state, as well as incorporating the city of Chicago, a terminus of industry going back to the 19th century, Illinois was a crucial link in the railroad industry. Both passengers & freight were moved in great numbers throughout our territory. One of the most valuable collections held by the Illinois State Library is a collection of railroad maps showing the development of the state's rail system starting in 1854 and up through the present day. At one time many companies crisscrossed the state, but as time passed lines gradually merged as numerous went out of business, their track bought up by the remaining entities until only a few remained. These maps will show what companies existed when and where their track went. Also electric rail passenger lines, i.e. interurban railroads, will be shown on these maps as well. One can still find traces of their tracks, but the maps will show the entirety of these long gone modes of public transportation.

The web version of the images is JPEG2000. Upon request, the State Library map staff can send a TIFF version or can make a full-scale color paper copy.

Register of Illinois Prisons browse-->>

Registers of Prisoners for Alton, Joliet and Menard State Prisons 1833-1908

This database provides an index for the Registers of Prisoners received at the Illinois State Penitentiary at Alton Prison (1833-1841; 1847-1858), the Illinois State Penitentiary at Joliet (ca. 1858-1901) and Southern Illinois penitentiary at Chester (Menard) (ca. 1865-1908). A complete history of Illinois prisons is accessible here (http://archon.ilsos.net/?p=creators/creator&id=36). Registers provide information about the prisoner, including personal history and family history.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a grant awarded by the Illinois State Library, a Department of the Office of Secretary of State using state grant funds.

For more information, see Department of Corrections - RG 243 | Illinois State Archives.

Remembering FDR browse-->>

In 1941, President Franklin D. Roosevelt, a lifelong sailor and former assistant secretary of the Navy, sent Winston Churchill a handwritten note, in which he included a quotation from an 1849 William Longfellow poem, “The Building of the Ship,” which began “Sail On, O Ship of State!” His use of a ship’s metaphor to describe the battle then being waged between Great Britain and Germany, and to fortify the spirits of the British, reflects his fascination with the sea, but also suggests the degree to which Roosevelt saw himself as a captain of his own ship of state. It is no accident, therefore, that during his presidency, companies mass produced images of Roosevelt at the helm, steering the American state. Imposed on clocks and lamp bases, Roosevelt’s image and figure reminded Americans that a strong leader would guide them through troubled seas.

Artifacts such as the ones in this collection, located in the Joseph M. Jacobs and Lowery Collections of FDR memorabilia at the Roosevelt University Library, illustrate the extraordinary popularity of America’s 32nd president. Through these artifacts, we see the way in which Franklin D. Roosevelt and New Deal liberalism influenced the public careers and private lives of Americans in Chicago and across the nation.

Remembering the Houses of Western Springs browse-->>

Remembering the Houses of Western Springs is a collection of photographs of 19th century houses, with dates and some background information on each house. The Western Springs Historical Society took the photographs in 1977, and Thomas Ford Memorial Library in Western Springs digitized them in 2005.

Western Springs is a suburb of Chicago located on the western edge of Cook County. The community was first settled in 1870s, and the village was incorporated in 1886. Being located along the Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad, the village became an affordable location for the homes of Chicago-bound commuters. The village was in many ways typical of Chicago suburbs that developed in the late 19th and early 20th century. Remarkably, many houses built in that era survive.

The photographs may also be found in the book Western Springs: 19th Century Houses and Their Owners, 1978.

For more information about this project visit this link at the Western Springs History site.

Ridgewood High School browse-->>

The communities of Norridge and Harwood Heights are entirely landlocked by the City of Chicago, which annexed the surrounding land to build O'Hare Airport. Both communities were founded in 1948. In 1959, the two communities elected to build a high school to provide secondary education to their ever-increasing populations.

In bedroom communities like Norridge and Harwood Heights, still welcoming new immigrants to the U.S., there is no town square and not much of a shared history or experience with other residents; however, Ridgewood High School is the one experience that everyone shares. It is a life-long experience. Residents come there as young students; return as parents for their children; use the gym or auditorium facilities; and learn as adult learners in its extension classes. In this very real sense, Ridgewood High School is the community.

The first superintendent of Ridgewood, Eugene R. Howard, was a great proponent of the educational theories of Dr. J. Lloyd Trump. Dr. Trump's teaching methods of secondary school education were revolutionary for their time. Students attended classes ranging in length from 20 to 80 minutes. One third of the instruction was done in large lecture halls of 60-160 students, making extensive use of educational TV and films. One third was then done in small discussion seminar groups of 10-20 students, led by students and guided by teachers' aides. The final third of the students' time was intended to be devoted to individual study.

Ridgewood High School was designed with the Trump System in mind. The building was wired for cable television and initially laid out with the required lecture halls and seminar spaces. The school became famous for these educational innovations, with articles appearing in 1968 in Time Magazine and Ladies Home Journal proclaiming the school was one of "America’s Top Ten High Schools".

Rockford College Collection browse-->>

Historical images from Rockford College.

Digitization of this collection was developed pursuant to a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant awarded by the Illinois State Library, an Office of the Secretary of State using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act .

Rockford Public Library browse-->>

Historical images from Rockford, Illinois.

Roselle Local History Digital Archive - Working Together; Looking at Our Past browse-->>

Partnering with the Roselle History Museum, the Roselle Public Library digitized historical artifacts that illustrate the growth and development of Roselle, Illinois.

The History Museum maintains a large collection of original photographs and documents. Digitizing the collection not only serves to preserve it, but also to organize and index it. In addition, digitizing makes it possible to present the collection on the Internet as a searchable database, accessible to anyone with a computer and Internet access.

The images in this collection were digitized using the "best practices" suggested by the Illinois State Library. The History Museum and the Library each retain high quality archival copies of all of the images presented in this database.

Skokie Fire Department History Project browse-->>

Photographs, documents, and artifacts relate the history of the Skokie Fire Department.

Skokie History Project browse-->>

Photographs, maps, business cards, advertisements, and architectural drawings document the history of Niles Center and Skokie from the early 1800s to the 1990s.

Skokie's Attempted Nazi March Archive browse-->>

Newspaper articles, letters, and audio recordings document the attempt of the National Socialist Party of America (Nazis) to march in Skokie in 1978.

Skokie's Dr. Louise Klehm Archive browse-->>

Photographs, letters, and artifacts document the life and career of Dr. Louise Klehm, Skokie’s first woman doctor. Dr. Klehm graduated from medical school in 1902, interned at Jane Addam's Hull House, studied surgery in Berlin and Vienna, and finally came home to Skokie to practice medicine.

Social Justice and Activism at Elmhurst College browse-->>

Since its founding in 1871, Elmhurst College has been a community where spiritual life, humane values, mutual respect, service to others, and responsible citizenship are practiced. Throughout its history, these values have led the College and its students to participate in the social activism of twentieth century America. Particularly since the 1920's, discussion and debate in the college newspaper, speakers brought to campus to discuss important current issues, and student activism both on and off campus have characterized the College's engagement in social issues. Events at Elmhurst College have reflected on a smaller scale the national scene, and thus provide an interesting context for studying the social movements of twentieth century America.

The collection includes photographs, excerpts from the college newspaper, and other supporting papers from the Elmhurst College archives. The largest part of the collection focuses on the social movements of the 1960's - civil rights, student activism, Vietnam War - but materials from other eras, including the 1920's and World War II are included.

Southeast Chicago Historical Society browse-->>

The Southeast Chicago Historical Society (http://www.neiu.edu/~reseller) curates a collection particularly strong in materials related to industrial and labor history. Included in their collection are artifacts related to numerous industries in the area including Wisconsin Steel, United States Steel South Works, Republic Steel, Acme Coke /Interlake Steel, Valley Mould, and others.

Materials digitized from this collection focus on industries in the Calumet region other than Pullman and Acme/Interlake Steel. This includes several major steel mills including U. S. Steel, Wisconsin Steel, and Republic Steel. Other area industries such as General Mills, the State Line Generating Station, and local shipyards are also included. Labor activities, especially the Memorial Day Massacre of 1937, related to these industries and local millgate communities including South Chicago, South Deering, the East Side and Hegewisch are featured.

Springfield Aviation Company Collection browse-->>

The Springfield Aviation Company Collection, 1927-1955, was donated to the Sangamon Valley Collection at Lincoln Library in May 1995 by Craig Isbell, former co-manager of the company. Isbell formed a partnership with Gelder Lockwood in the late 1920s and operated this company at Springfield's Southwest Airport. This airport was first called Commercial Airport and later Municipal Airport. It continued as a private airfield after the opening of Abraham Lincoln Capital Airport in 1947. The collection is comprised of several hundred photographs, publications and newspaper clippings related to the company and aviation in Springfield.

These digital images, made available by the Sangamon Valley Collection at the Lincoln Library (Springfield), are of photographs from this collection.

St. Charles History -- Then and Now browse-->>

The St. Charles Public Library (SCPL) digital collection chronicles the events and people that have shaped the history of St. Charles, IL from the early 1800s to the present. Materials include old maps (including the city of St. Charles, St. Charles Township and Campton Township), militia records, biographies, photographs, diaries and other materials from the Library's archived collection.

Many of the files are compilations of clippings taken over the years from local newspapers covering topics of interest such as the school district, police department, local businesses and more. Although the city of St. Charles is the main focus of the collection, some information about the surrounding Fox Valley area and Kane County is also included. Digitization and addition of materials to the collection is on-going.

To improve your search, try using both subjects (such as "Business and Industry") as well as proper names. Some larger works also include separate indexes which have also been digitized and provide a good starting point. In addition, you might like to visit the "Local History" page of the St. Charles Public Library web site (http://www.stcharleslibrary.org/node/342) for more information about local historic buildings as well as other resources that are available at the Library.

St. John's College Department of Nursing History browse-->>

This collection of images represents a portion of the rich history of St. John’s College in Springfield, Illinois. The images cover the time from the School’s inception in 1886 as St. John’s Hospital Training School to the demolition of the old School of Nursing building in 1990. Father Louis Hinssen and the Hospital Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis started the School on October 4, 1886 (Feast of St. Francis). It was the first Catholic hospital school of nursing, and in the beginning was a one-year program exclusively for the Hospital Sisters. In 1912, the first lay women were admitted. The first men were admitted in 1955. The School of Nursing officially became St. John’s College, Department of Nursing, in 1991.

Sterling and Rock Falls Local History Collection browse-->>

Local history images from the Sterling Public Library collection.

Tinker Swiss Cottage browse-->>

Tinker Swiss Cottage is a historic house museum located in the heart of Rockford, Illinois. The museum complex contains the historic house museum, barn, and carriage house from the Tinker family. In addition, the property is the home of the founding site of Rockford and contains a Pre-Columbian Native American conical mound.

Towanda District Library -- Towanda Area Historical Collection browse-->>

The Towanda District Library and the Towanda Area Historical Society collaborated on this project to digitize and make available Towanda area historical and cultural materials from the collection of the Towanda Area Historical Society. The focus of the digital collection is in these areas: historical buildings and homes; Towanda’s Main Street through the years; early rural schools of the Towanda area; oral and written family and personal stories. The collection contains: photographs; maps; family and person written histories; newspaper clippings; organization and business histories; postcards and more.

Transactions of the Illinois State Academy of Science browse-->>

Transactions, the referred scientific journal of the Illinois State Academy of Science, has been published continually since its inaugural 1908 issue.

University of Saint Mary of the Lake Collection browse-->>

The Eucharistic Congress 1926

The 28th Eucharistic Congress of the Catholic Church was held in Chicago, June 20-24, 1926, the first time it had been hosted in the United States. It was considered the greatest religious gathering in modern times.

On June 24th, 750,000 people made a pilgrimage in a Eucharistic Procession from Chicago to St. Mary of the Lake in Mundelein. The participants traveled on foot, by auto, bus, and by rail. Shown below is a view of St. Mary of the Lake with the procession being led by Cardinal Bonzano.

Urban Landscapes from the Field Museum browse-->>

In October 2006, the Field Museum Library's Photo Archives began a project that was funded by the Library Services Technology Act through the Honorable Jesse White, Illinois Secretary of State and State Librarian. The purpose of the project was to use digital technology to create replacement-quality, high-resolution replicas of a collection of approximately 800 original glass negatives.

The images produced for this project range from 1894 to 1925 and show Chicago and outlying areas' flora, fauna, parks, and neighborhoods. They also document architectural changes to the Field Columbian Museum in Jackson Park and The Field Museum in its present location in Grant Park.

Vachel Lindsay Collection browse-->>

The Vachel Lindsay Collection is comprised largely of materials containing the published prose and poetry of Vachel Lindsay in formats such as posters, newspaper and magazine articles, booklets, pamphlets, magazines and books. Other items include newspaper and magazine articles that contain biographical information on Lindsay and his family, critiques of his work and memorials and tributes to Lindsay. This small collection of photographs include Lindsay, his family, Elizabeth Graham, the Lindsay Verse Speaking Choir, 1940 and his tombstone. Phonograph recordings of Lindsay reading his works and his son, Nicholas Cave Lindsay, reading his father's poems make up another part of the collection.

Two scrapbook albums put together by Frances "Fannie" Hamilton, the younger sister of Vachel's mother contain materials about Lindsay from 1914 to about 1930. The albums include poems, drawings, private publications, clippings about and by Lindsay, a lock of his hair and some photographs. Bound volumes of his work include The Tramp's Excuse, The Village Magazine first edition, The Village Magazine third and fourth editions, Vision Magazine, A Letter About My Four Programmes and a notebook kept by Joy Lindsay Blair, Vachel's younger sister.

These digital images, made available by the Sangamon Valley Collection at the Lincoln Library (Springfield), are of photographs from this collection.

Warbler Digitization Project -- Eastern Illinois University browse-->>

The Warbler, Eastern Illinois University's student yearbook, provides a fascinating insight over the years into Eastern's history, from the perspective of its students. Published yearly since 1919, the Warbler captures information and photographs of students and faculty, chronicles important cultural and sporting events, describes organizational activities, and depicts changes in the campus layout and physical plant. Taken together, the Warblers document in a very vivid way, the story of Eastern Illinois University as it evolved from a small normal school to the comprehensive university that it is today.

Watch Word browse-->>

The Watch Word magazine chronicled personal stories, photos, company history, engineering successes and local businesses for employees of the Elgin National Watch Company, a leading Elgin employer for over one hundred years

Wheaton Veterans’ Reflections browse-->>

This is a collection of photographs and stories submitted for the project “Reflections Framed: A Celebration of Military Service Past and Present.” Veterans and family or friends with a connection to Wheaton, Illinois share a photo and story that describes a military memory or experience. Oral histories from veterans who agreed to create them are included.

Wheeling and Buffalo Grove History browse-->>

Local history images of the towns of Buffalo Grove and Wheeling

William Hayes Papers browse-->>

The William Hayes Papers are primarily family letters written from 1830-1857. However, they also inlcude legal documents, business letters, and copies of "Andrew Borders vs. William Hayes," his 1844 civil trial at Picnkneyville for helping five Borders slaves escape to northern Illinois and the Illinois State Supreme Court trial which followed.

William Hayes was born on November 9, 1795, the son of Henry Hayes (1762-1823) and Mary Ann (Molly) Ferris(s). Little is known of his life prior to his marriage to Anna Johnston (1800-1861) on November 25, 1819. In 1825 he was a resident of Galway, New York. By 1826 he had "undertaken the farm for mother's and the girl's comfort." The mother mentioned here was probably Rachel Johnston, Anna's mother. The "girls" were Anna's half-sisters, Leah (1781-1843) and Jane (1792-1857) Cownover (variously spelled "Conover" and "Cowenhoven"). As early as 1826 William and Anna were receiving letters from her half-sister Ursula Taylor, to sell the farm and move her mother and sisters to Cleveland where she lived with her husband Charles. In 1829 William began receiving letters from Oliver Bannister, who had settled in Randolph County, Illinois, urging him to move to the Illinois country.

In late May of 1833 William, Anna, and their children (Mary Rachel, Margaret, Euphemia, William James, Isaac Henry, and Jane Ann) left their home in Galway and traveled to Cleveland to look over the land and visit with her half-sister, Ursula. Besides their large family, Anna's two half-sisters, Leah and Jane Cownover, also made the trip. In July of that same year, William left Cleveland, leaving the women and children behind, and went to Illinois to see if he liked it better than Ohio. Apparently he liked what he saw because in September 1833 he moved his family to Fort Clark, Illinois (present-day Peoria). While living in the Peoria area, William bought and sold land in northern Illinois. He seems to have been a land speculator. The Hayes family left Peoria in 1834 and settled in Randolph County. The reason given in one letter is that his wife had been sick with "the ague" for the entire year they lived in Peoria.

The first mention of William's work with the Underground Railroad occurs in a letter from his brother, James, in 1841. The following year on August 31, 1842, William helped five "indentured servants" (Susan Richardson - "Sukey", Hannah Morrison, and Sukey's children Jarrot, Harrison, and Anderson) escape from Randolph County. The five had "belonged" to Andrew Borders, a very wealthy and influential man who lived west of Sparta. The route the escapees traveled is not known, but by September 5, 1842 they had arrived in Farmington, Illinois. In February 1843 Andrew Borders sued William Hayes for aiding his servants in escaping and asked for $2500 in damages. The case was finally tried in April 1844 in Pinckneyville, Illinois. Hayes was found guilty and fined $300. He appealed the case to the Illinois Supreme Court which upheld the Perry County decision and refused to grant a new trial. A letter exists from 1845 that clearly indicates that William Hayes did not stop his involvement in the Underground Railroad. In 1848 a criminal charge was leveled against him and a Daniel Morrison for "harboring a slave" in Clinton County. This case never came to trail because William Hayes died intestate in 1849. His estate was probated in 1852. When the estate was finally settled, Anna Hayes received $118.25.

The documents in the Illinois Digital Archives website are only a portion of the letters written to William Hayes. Transcripts of the entire collection cam be found at the Sparta Public Library, Sparta, Illinois and the Knox College Library, Galesburg, Illinois. The entire story of Sukey, William Hayes, and Andrew Borders is told in the book Betwixt Two Suns: A True Tale of the Underground Raiload in Illinois by Carol Pirtle (Southern Illinois University Press, 2000.)

Wilmette History browse-->>

The Wilmette Public Library history site displays photographs, letters, and documents to illustrate the history of the village of Wilmette and New Trier Township in Cook County, Illinois, U.S.A. A special focus of the collection is the history of the Wilmette Public Library.

Woodstock Local History browse-->>

Community history images from the city of Woodstock

World War I - - Documents browse-->>

Hundreds of men, as well as many women, of Illinois were playing a part in the World War long before the United States entered the war. Some were fighting on the western front, some were Red Cross nurses or welfare workers. Others joined the Lafayette Escadrille (the American aviation unit in the French army), or entered the Foreign Legion. Records compiled by the Office of the Adjutant General show that Illinois gave 351,153 men to the army and navy of the United States during the war. Out of every twelve men in the army one was from Illinois. Illinois furnished more men to the army and navy than any other state in the Union, with the exception of New York and Pennsylvania, both of which had larger populations. The state's own division, the Thirty-third, was the only distinctly Illinois division that saw active service in France.

Money, next to men, was the greatest need of the government and Illinois gave its share and more. About seven percent of the subscriptions received for the nation's war loans, a total of approximately $1,300,000,000 came from Illinois - which, at the time, had about five percent of the population of the United States. Statistics compiled by the State Council of Defense show that the total contributions of the state to various funds raised by war aid and relief organizations was more than $45,000,000. One of the largest Illinois contributions to the war effort by Illinois farmers was the farm crop of 1918. Estimated by the Department of Agriculture to be worth $879,697,000 it was the greatest crop in money value that was ever produced by any state in the Union. As factories were quickly converted into munitions plants the output of Illinois factories in direct war contracts in 1918 was approximately $2,000,000,000.

By the time the War ended, more than 5,000 men from Illinois had given their lives in defense of world freedom and liberty.

World War II -- Documents browse-->>

On December 7, 1941 Japan bombed the American Naval Fleet at Pearl Harbor, prompting the United States to declare war on Japan. Although Illinois was divided on the issue of war or peace prior to December 7, the attack on Pearl Harbor caused a united front to form. While Springfield (the state capital) claimed to be the “heart of the nation” – not only geographically, but spiritually as well, the Illinois State Register (Springfield) reminded the citizens of its place as the “focal and central point in the State and Nation,” and called for a renewed sense of civic responsibility. Governor Dwight Green called for volunteers for defense and war services – the citizens responded, in fact the young men of Illinois crowded recruiting stations in such great numbers that they were forced to stay open twenty-four hours a day. In a telegram to President Roosevelt, Governor Green pledged the full support of the people and resources of Illinois.

This collection contains United States and Illinois government documents on subjects relating to World War II, including: rationing and conservation, women's work, civil defense, the Japanese interment, the development of the United Nations, and more.

World War II -- From Homefront to Warfront browse-->>

Audio and video recordings of oral histories are accompanied by photographs, correspondence, and memorabilia from private collections to illustrate the home front and warfront lives of Coal City, Illinois area residents during World War II.

Special tribute is given to those who paid the supreme sacrifice.

For more information about this project, and other local history collections, visit this link at the Coal City Public Library site.

World War II -- Posters browse-->>

During World War II the United States government issued posters on topics such as national security, rationing and conservation, investing in war bonds, military recruitment, civil defense, and industrial production. These posters were part of an aggressive propaganda campaign designed to encourage and mobilize the home front war effort. Artists such as James Montgomery Flagg, Otto Fischer, Ben Shahn, and Norman Rockwell contributed their talents to create some of these posters.

This collection contains posters issued by various United States government agencies from the beginning of the war through 1945.

World's Columbian Exposition of 1893 from the Field Museum browse-->>

As the planned outcome of Chicago's 1893 World's Columbian Exposition, The Field Museum may well be called "the Fair that never ended."

In its special collections the Library holds important original materials from the Exposition and a wealth of material relating to the founding and early history of The Field Museum. Our digital presentation of these collections allows you to browse or search among these holdings and view images.

The collections include official records, objects and photographs, as well as personal memorabilia from the Fair, such as the Robbins Family Scrapbook containing hundreds of fascinating items collected during the family's seven visits to the Exposition. Official records from the Fair include the immense handwritten financial ledger - six feet across when opened - recording the operating costs of the Fair. Also included are a collection of 350 photographs that document the construction of the Museum's present building at 12th Street, at the foot of Grant Park between 1915 and 1919.