Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Plainfield
(495 results)



Display: 50

    • Sketch of Hagar Home

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This is a sketch of the old Hagar home. It was located just across the street from the Greenwood Shoe Shop. The first Hagar and Sanger Store was what is now (1934) the Congregational parsonage. This store building has been moved NW on the lot and...
    • Wight Homestead 1900

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • A picture of the Wight Homestead on Main St. in Plainfield, IL. This was taken in about 1900 and was the home of the late Roderick Wight. James Mathews built this part of the tavern in 1836 or 37. The first part was built in 1834 by Squire Arnold....
    • South side Lockport St Fire of 1899

    • Fires--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Barbershop--Illinois--Plainfield; Stables--Illinois--Plainfield; Saloons--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This is a picture of the south side of Lodkport St. in Plainfield, after the fire of 1899 and shows all that was left of the Sonntag Bros. Harness Shop. Also burned at this time was a tool shed, livery stable and Al Worst Barber Shop. These...
    • North part of Wight Home

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Saloons--Illinois--Plainfield; Stables--Illinois--Plainfield; Postal service--Illinois--Plainfield
    • Looking east. This is picture of the oldest building in north Plainfield and is the north part of the Wight home and is in good condition. Built by Squire Arnold in 1834. the horse barns were just west of the building and had a capacity of 100...
    • Reverend Jesse Walker

    • Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Frontier & pioneer life
    • This illustration is of Jesse Walker, one of the pioneer preachers of the N. W. Territory. Rev. Walker was born in Rockingham Co. Virginia June 9, 1766 and came to Illinois in 1806. He held the first camp meeting in the state near Edwardsville...
    • North Plainfield Schoolhouse

    • Rural schools--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This is a sketch of the school house in North Plainfield and was built in 1847 at a cost of $1500. It stood on the SW corner of Main and Arnold Sts. where the Barney Wright homestead now stands (1934). This was the 3rd school house on this lot. The...
    • North side of Lockport St. Looking NW- 1890

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Drugstores--Illinois--Plainfield; Hardware stores--Illinois--Plainfield; Restaurants--Illinois--Plainfield; Organizations
    • This is a view of Lockport St. in about 1890 and is looking NW. The first building on the corner was A.T. Corbin's store, next may have been Nate Waltz's Harness shop and next either the Clippinger or Owen's Drug Store. The outstanding historic...
    • South side Lockport St Fire of 1898

    • Fires--Illinois--Plainfield; Post offices--Illinois--Plainfield; Banks--Illinois--Plainfield; Hardware stores--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This is another picture showing burned area after the fire of 1898, looking SE. The iron work you see standing was the front of the Post Office, John Sennitt was then Post Master. This fire started in the basement of Hays and McCreery's General...
    • Lockport St. 1892

    • Fires--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Drugstores--Illinois--Plainfield; Shoemakers--Illinois--Plainfield
    • Lockport St.in about 1892 and shows a part of Daniel Zimmerman's shoe shop also the Wood buildings, the roof of the Calaboose and Flaggs barns.To the right may be seen part of the burned area of 1891. The fire destroyed all on the north side of...
    • First General Store in Plainfield IL

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This is a picture of a drawing of the first general store built in the town of Plainfield. In 1834, Jonathan Hagar left Ohio and came to Plainfield and in company with Samuel Sargeant opened a store over a wagon shop owned by John Bills which stood...
    • First Tailor Shop in Plainfield

    • Tailors--Illinois--Plainfield
    • A picture of the first tailor shop in Plainfield. In Woodruff's History of Will County, he states that when [Jonathan] Hagar came to Plainfield in 1835, there were a blacksmith shop, tailor shop, a wagon shop, two taverns, a couple of houses, a Mr....
    • Greenwood Shoe Shop

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Shoemakers--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This is a sketch of the Greenwood Shoe Shop on Main St. (which) in the early days was the principal business street in the village. Mr. Greenwood was born 1827 in Yorkshire, England, and came to Plainfield, IL in 1853. He was married the same year,...
    • Faculty North Western College 1869

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools
    • This is a picture of the faculty of North Western College in 1869. They are: Rev. A.A. Smith, President; J.E. Rhodes; Rev. John H. Leas; Rev. F.W. Hydner; Henry C. Smith - assistant teachers. As previously stated, this ground was deeded to...
    • Reverend Stephen R. Beggs

    • Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Forts & fortifications
    • This is a picture of the Rev. S.R. Beggs in his later years. He served in many churches, and became presiding Elder in Rock River Conference. He also built the first Methodist Episcopal church in Plainfield in 1836, and assisted in the next two...
    • Dillman Foundry Corn Sheller

    • Manufacturing--Illinois--Plainfield; Agriculture--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This corn sheller was manufactured in Plainfield by the Dillman Foundry and Machine Shop. L.E. Dillman came to Plainfield in 1848. Michael Dillman and son Y.C. Dillman came in 1849 and started a foundry on the point formed by Division St. and the...
    • Horseless Carriage at Hoffman Residence

    • Carriages & coaches--Illinois--Plainfield; Manufacturing--Illinois--Plainfield; Vehicles
    • This is one of 6 larger negative image slides that were included among the original 265 piece positive-image collection. This picture was taken at the residence of Dr. Edward C. Hoffman D.D.S. His house was located at 'the point' where Division...
    • North Side of Lockport St before Fire of 1891

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Hardware stores--Illinois--Plainfield; Dry Goods stores--Illinois--Plainfield; Variety stores--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This picture shows the north side of Lockport St. previous to the fire of Dec. 29, 1891 and after the fire of 1888. The man on the wagon is Samuel Brainard. Occupying the buildings west of the old church building were: Mrs Flagg art and books; Dr....
    • Community House

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Rural schools--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This is a sketch of the first school building in Plainfield. It was built around 1833 and stood at 401 Division St. It was a log cabin about 14 feet square containing one door and two windows. A fireplace was built at one end. The building was used...
    • John D. Shreffler

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Agriculture--Illinois--Plainfield; Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Organizations
    • John D. Shreffler, son of German Evangelical preacher Daniel and his wife Catharine Dauberman, was born in Center County, PA in 1817. He came to IL in 1846 with his wife Sarah A. Tonner. He farmed in the southern part of the Village of Plainfield,...
    • Clippinger Building 1887

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Architecture
    • A sketch of the first brick building on the south side of Lockport St. It was built by I.A. Clippinger in 1887. To the left is the old brown store building at one time used by I.A. Clippinger as his drug store; later is was used as a barber shop...
    • Jeremiah Evarts

    • Banks--Illinois--Plainfield; Civil War--Illinois
    • (This is) A Picture of Jeremiah Evarts, who was Plainfield's first banker. Mr. Evarts was a native of Georgis, VT, was born in the year 1836, and died Feb. 3 1898 at Yorkville, IL. He came west to Kendall County at the age of 21. (He) taught school...
    • Plainfield Tile Company 1883

    • Tile Industry--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This is a view of the old Tile Factory looking NW also showing the barns and residence. It stood on the NW corner and just south of what is now (1934) the Avery Gravel Pit, about 1 mile SW of Plainfield. The front of this factory was W and N, and...
    • Universalist Church 1888

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • Lockport Street in 1888. The building to the right in this picture was the Universalist Church and was built in 1868 by the Universalist Association and is now (1934) the Catholic Church of Plainfield, Ill.The church, when built, cost $6,000 and...
    • Mr and Mrs George W Flagg

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Pioneers--Illinois
    • This is a picture of George W. Flagg Sr. and his wife. At this time I will give a short history of Reuben Flagg. Reuben Flagg was born in 1798. He came from VT with his family July 9, 1830, and settled on Section 10, one mile south of Plainfield in...
    • Lockport St Steel Bridge 1890

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Bridges
    • This is a view of the old steel bridge built in 1890 and is now replaced by the concrete bridge just west of Plainfield. The well-matched team in the bridge was owned by our townsman, Lou Mottinger. Mr. Mottinger bought and shipped stock, ran a...
    • G Y Smith School 1880

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools; Rural schools--Illinois--Plainfield; Students--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This picture was taken at the G.Y. Smith School NE of Plainfield in 1880. Mrs. Nellie Duffy, Teacher. Standing left to right: John Mottinger, Bert Fickis, Ada Wertzbaugher, Mabel Smith, Dale Mottinger, King Spangler. Second row: Frank Hicks, Earl...
    • Remnants of Dam North of Plainfield IL 1933

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Mills--Illinois--Plainfield; Rivers--Illinois
    • A picture of what is left of the old dam north of Plainfield in 1933 looking north. It was built in 1835 by Mathews. It was a well-built dam, made of heavy hewn oak timbers and oak planks and gravel. It was 191 feet wide and from the crest of the...
    • Remnants of Tile Factory Bridge 1934

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Manufacturing--Illinois--Plainfield; Bridges; Rivers--Illinois
    • This picture shows what is now left (1934) of the old Tile Factory bridge, one mile south of Plainfield and is but a short distance downstream from the present bridge. These abutments were made of hewn oak timbers, the sides and bottom covered with...
    • Plainfield Brass Band 1900

    • Music emsembles--Illinois--Plainfield
    • Portrait of Plainfield's Brass Band organized around 1900. Those pictured ledt to right as you view the photo are standing: Ben Whitson, Presley Wood, Frank Spangler, Trelton Wood, Winn Bean and Frank Keene Seated in middle row: Howard Gray, Ora...
    • Jonathan Hagar

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This is a portrait of Jonathan Hagar of Plainfield, IL. Mr. Hagar was born in Quebec, Canada February 19, 1807. He moved with his parent to Montreal then to Middlebury, VT and lived on his mother's farm. His father was a sea captain. Mr. Hagar...
    • Mill's Cigar Factory 1890

    • Manufacturing--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This is a picture of the employees of the Mills Cigar Factory of Plainfield, Illinois and was organized about 1890. It was located in the skating rink building and for a short time employed from 10 to 12 cigarmakers. To the extreme right as you are...
    • Laura A. Pratt Diploma 1866

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools
    • Certificate of graduation issued by the North Western College of Plainfield, Illinois in 1866 to Miss Laura A. Pratt. It was hand drawn in India ink. This college was under the auspices of the Evangelical Association.
    • James Beggs

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Hotels
    • This is a picture of Reverend Stephen Beggs son James Beggs. He spent most of his life in Plainfield. He was born at Troy Grove near Ottawa Illinois March 5, 1835. After his marriage, he started in farming. Later he has a hotel at Naperville...
    • Warner Hatch

    • Manufacturing--Illinois--Plainfield
    • Warner Hatch, son of Alanson Hatch (who was born at Birkshire Co. Massachusettes October 31, 1801). He first engaged in farming and afterward took up the trade of shoemaker, which he followed until 1884. The son, Warner Hatch, was born in Troy New...
    • Old Red Mill

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Agriculture--Illinois--Plainfield; Mills--Illinois--Plainfield
    • The Old Red Mill was built by James Mathews in 1835 and was operated by him until 1844. McAllister Brothers bought it and did some remodeling adding a saw mill which was operated by Burrell, Hagar and Goodhue and, later in 1829, by Alonzo...
    • Plainfield Public Library District

    •  
    • Items represent collections within the Plainfield Historical Society, Plainfield Public Library, Shorewood-Troy Public Library District, and the Will County Recorder of Deeds office and include index books, plat atlases, glass plate negatives and...
    • Fisher House on Main Street

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Architecture
    • This is a sketch of what is now (1934) known as the Fisher house and stands on the NE of the railroad and on the south side of Main St. In the early days of Plainfield, it was the storehouse of the McAllister Bros. They also operated the Old Red...
    • Old Red Mill 1894

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Mills--Illinois--Plainfield; Rivers--Illinois; Manufacturing--Illinois--Plainfield
    • Another picture of the old Red Mill on the banks of the DuPage River in about 1894. Looking NE. This picture was taken a short time before it ws taken down by Sid Grey. The lumber and timbers were used in building the machine shop now occupied by...
    • Early Bridge SW of Plainfield

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Bridges
    • A sketch photograph of the lower bridge which was one mile SW of Plainfield. It was a short distance below the present bridge (1934) and the old wood abutments may yet be seen. Just when it was built is hard to say, but I think it was built in the...
    • First M.E. Church 1836

    • Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • [This is] a photograph of the first Methodist Church in Plainfield. It was built in 1836 and was used as a place of worship by various denominations, also as a schoolhouse. Singing classes and public meetings [were also held here]. In 1849, a new...
    • Second Schoolhouse in Plainfield IL

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools
    • A sketch of the second schoolhouse that was built in South Plainfield in 1851 and was occupied as such until the new consolidated school was built in 1881-82. This school was built at a cost of $1200 In 1878, John H. Stipman was the Principal and...
    • Judge John Dean Caton

    • Illinois--Cook County--Chicago; Agriculture--Illinois--Plainfield; Politics & government
    • This is a picture of John Dean Caton, who was born in the town of Monroe, Orange Co. NY on March 19, 1812. He was the 12th child of a family of 15 children. He taught school before he was 18 years old. In December of 1831, he started the study of...
    • Early School House

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools
    • This picture gives us a very good idea of what the early school houses of the NW looked like. They were invariably built of logs by the pioneers, and all the work was donated, so the expense to the taxpayer was small. Plainfield had 2 such...
    • Captain Ed H McAllister

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Civil War--Illinois; Military service--Illinois; Politics & government
    • This is a picture of Captain Ed H. McAllister who was born December 24, 1828. He was educated in Washington Academy at Salem, NY, and he came to Plainfield in 1852. He bought 160 acres of prairie land without any improvements. He was a Republican...
    • Dr D.W. Jump

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Politics & government
    • A picture of our well-known Dr. D.W. Jump. He was born in Huron Co. OH August 24, 1847. He spent his early days on the farm and at the age of 18 he began reading medicine and teaching school. He entered the University of Michigan in 1869 and...
    • Plainfield Consolidated School 1881

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools
    • This was Plainfield's first consolidated school and was built in 1881. This picture was taken soon after it was built. Previous to this time, we had two schools, the north and the south. The north school stood where Mrs. Barney Wright's house now...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK