Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
(125 results)



Display: 50

    • L to Z Grantor/Grantee Index

    • Illinois--Will County; People; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Illinois--Will County--Shorewood; Illinois--Will County--Lockport; Illinois--Will County--Joliet;
    • Index of property transactions within Will County from 1836-1885 alphabetically by surname or corporation name.
    • Sam Grundy

    • Musicians--Illinois--Plainfield; Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; People
    • This is a picture of another one of our older citizens, Sam Grundy, a capable violinist who gave recitals at many of our social gatherings and also furnished music at dances for Plainfield and vicinity. Those who played with Mr. Grundy at various...
    • Will County Recorder of Deeds Office Grantor/Grantee Index Volume A-D

    • Illinois--Cook County; Banks--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Manufacturing--Illinois--Plainfield; People; Politics & government; Pioneers--Illinois;
    • Will County Recorder of Deeds Office property transactions for Will County from 1836-1885. Entries are listed alphabetically by surname and include: Surname; First Name; Type of transaction; Volume and Page where original record can be found at...
    • Community House

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Rural schools--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This is a sketch of the first school building in Plainfield. It was built around 1833 and stood at 401 Division St. It was a log cabin about 14 feet square containing one door and two windows. A fireplace was built at one end. The building was used...
    • John D. Shreffler

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Agriculture--Illinois--Plainfield; Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Organizations
    • John D. Shreffler, son of German Evangelical preacher Daniel and his wife Catharine Dauberman, was born in Center County, PA in 1817. He came to IL in 1846 with his wife Sarah A. Tonner. He farmed in the southern part of the Village of Plainfield,...
    • NE view Lockport St 1890

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Recreation
    • A view of Lockport St. in about 1890 looking NE and showing the Congregational Church when it had a spire, also showing the Universalist Church and the School House in the distance. To the right is the Rink Building. Henry Gorham built this...
    • Universalist Church 1888

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • Lockport Street in 1888. The building to the right in this picture was the Universalist Church and was built in 1868 by the Universalist Association and is now (1934) the Catholic Church of Plainfield, Ill.The church, when built, cost $6,000 and...
    • Early Bridge SW of Plainfield

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Bridges
    • A sketch photograph of the lower bridge which was one mile SW of Plainfield. It was a short distance below the present bridge (1934) and the old wood abutments may yet be seen. Just when it was built is hard to say, but I think it was built in the...
    • South side Lockport St Fire of 1899

    • Fires--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Barbershop--Illinois--Plainfield; Stables--Illinois--Plainfield; Saloons--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This is a picture of the south side of Lodkport St. in Plainfield, after the fire of 1899 and shows all that was left of the Sonntag Bros. Harness Shop. Also burned at this time was a tool shed, livery stable and Al Worst Barber Shop. These...
    • Lockport St. 1892

    • Fires--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Drugstores--Illinois--Plainfield; Shoemakers--Illinois--Plainfield
    • Lockport St.in about 1892 and shows a part of Daniel Zimmerman's shoe shop also the Wood buildings, the roof of the Calaboose and Flaggs barns.To the right may be seen part of the burned area of 1891. The fire destroyed all on the north side of...
    • Remnants of Dam North of Plainfield IL 1933

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Mills--Illinois--Plainfield; Rivers--Illinois
    • A picture of what is left of the old dam north of Plainfield in 1933 looking north. It was built in 1835 by Mathews. It was a well-built dam, made of heavy hewn oak timbers and oak planks and gravel. It was 191 feet wide and from the crest of the...
    • Mr and Mrs George W Flagg

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Pioneers--Illinois
    • This is a picture of George W. Flagg Sr. and his wife. At this time I will give a short history of Reuben Flagg. Reuben Flagg was born in 1798. He came from VT with his family July 9, 1830, and settled on Section 10, one mile south of Plainfield in...
    • Remnants of Tile Factory Bridge 1934

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Manufacturing--Illinois--Plainfield; Bridges; Rivers--Illinois
    • This picture shows what is now left (1934) of the old Tile Factory bridge, one mile south of Plainfield and is but a short distance downstream from the present bridge. These abutments were made of hewn oak timbers, the sides and bottom covered with...
    • Mill Race Walker Saw Mill 1934

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Rivers--Illinois; Bridges
    • This picture, looking north, shows the mill race at the Walker saw mill south of Plainfield. The present bridge (1934) and grade can be seen in the distance and is on the exact place where the dam was built across the river. This dam was sort of a...
    • Remnants Walker Saw Mill 1935

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Rivers--Illinois; Mills--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This picture shows four hewn timbers extending from the NE bank of the river and were the foundation timbers of the James Walker saw mill. These timbers are in a good state of preservation although they were placed there in 1830 which is now (1935)...
    • Reverend S R Beggs

    • Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Pioneers--Illinois; Blackhawk War--Illinois
    • This is a picture of Rev. S.R. Beggs in his younger years. Rev. Beggs was born in Rockingham Co. VA on March 3, 1801. When a child, he came to KY with his parents, and later to Clark Co. IN. His education was limited to that of the community...
    • Old Red Mill

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Agriculture--Illinois--Plainfield; Mills--Illinois--Plainfield
    • The Old Red Mill was built by James Mathews in 1835 and was operated by him until 1844. McAllister Brothers bought it and did some remodeling adding a saw mill which was operated by Burrell, Hagar and Goodhue and, later in 1829, by Alonzo...
    • G.N. Chittenden's Dry Goods Store

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Dry Goods stores--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This picture was taken shortly after the building was built in 1870. Corbin and Chittenden built it for their General Store, their former location was on the S.W. corner of Division and Commercial Sts. and on the lot where (1934) A.C. Steiner now...
    • Plainfield Rivals Baseball Club 1903

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Recreation
    • This is a group picture of a baseball team in 1903. They were known at The Rivals. They are from left to right, standing: Dr. Harry Spangler, Jesse Wylie, Chas. Evans, John Foran, Joe Salisbury, Ray Spangler, Floyd Worst, Albert Brownson, Al Worst,...
    • North Side of Lockport St before Fire of 1891

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Hardware stores--Illinois--Plainfield; Dry Goods stores--Illinois--Plainfield; Variety stores--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This picture shows the north side of Lockport St. previous to the fire of Dec. 29, 1891 and after the fire of 1888. The man on the wagon is Samuel Brainard. Occupying the buildings west of the old church building were: Mrs Flagg art and books; Dr....
    • North side of Lockport St. Looking NW- 1890

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Drugstores--Illinois--Plainfield; Hardware stores--Illinois--Plainfield; Restaurants--Illinois--Plainfield; Organizations
    • This is a view of Lockport St. in about 1890 and is looking NW. The first building on the corner was A.T. Corbin's store, next may have been Nate Waltz's Harness shop and next either the Clippinger or Owen's Drug Store. The outstanding historic...
    • South side Lockport St Fire of 1898

    • Fires--Illinois--Plainfield; Post offices--Illinois--Plainfield; Banks--Illinois--Plainfield; Hardware stores--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This is another picture showing burned area after the fire of 1898, looking SE. The iron work you see standing was the front of the Post Office, John Sennitt was then Post Master. This fire started in the basement of Hays and McCreery's General...
    • Baptist Church

    • Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Blacksmith--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This church was built in 1857 by the Baptist Association and was the second building on this lot. This building was remodeled in 1914, but burned before it was completed. The present building was erected the following year and now (1934) has a good...
    • First General Store in Plainfield IL

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This is a picture of a drawing of the first general store built in the town of Plainfield. In 1834, Jonathan Hagar left Ohio and came to Plainfield and in company with Samuel Sargeant opened a store over a wagon shop owned by John Bills which stood...
    • North part of Wight Home

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Saloons--Illinois--Plainfield; Stables--Illinois--Plainfield; Postal service--Illinois--Plainfield
    • Looking east. This is picture of the oldest building in north Plainfield and is the north part of the Wight home and is in good condition. Built by Squire Arnold in 1834. the horse barns were just west of the building and had a capacity of 100...
    • Old Red Mill 1894

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Mills--Illinois--Plainfield; Rivers--Illinois; Manufacturing--Illinois--Plainfield
    • Another picture of the old Red Mill on the banks of the DuPage River in about 1894. Looking NE. This picture was taken a short time before it ws taken down by Sid Grey. The lumber and timbers were used in building the machine shop now occupied by...
    • Second Schoolhouse in Plainfield IL

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools
    • A sketch of the second schoolhouse that was built in South Plainfield in 1851 and was occupied as such until the new consolidated school was built in 1881-82. This school was built at a cost of $1200 In 1878, John H. Stipman was the Principal and...
    • Pioneer School House

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools; Pioneers--Illinois
    • [This slide was used in conjunction with "Slide 262 - Community House" in M.V. Hartong's historical presentations - editor] It is stated that a Mr. Wheeler from NY taught here at one time. History, if so long ago, is hard to find. Mr. Culver speaks...
    • Lockport St SW View

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Blacksmith--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This picture was taken on Lockport Street, now Lincoln Way, looking SW. In the background is the water tank, the Harbaugh blacksmith shop, and the John Funk implement store, built in about 1890. This corner is now used (1934) by the Texas Oil Co....
    • Captain Ed H McAllister

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Civil War--Illinois; Military service--Illinois; Politics & government
    • This is a picture of Captain Ed H. McAllister who was born December 24, 1828. He was educated in Washington Academy at Salem, NY, and he came to Plainfield in 1852. He bought 160 acres of prairie land without any improvements. He was a Republican...
    • Old Red Bridge

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Rivers--Illinois; Bridges
    • This is an artist's sketch of the Old Red Bridge west of the Village of Plainfield. This bridge was built in the late [18]60s or early 70s. The steel bridge which was recently replaced by the present concrete bridge was built in 1894. Not many of...
    • Dennison Green Blacksmith Shop

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Blacksmith--Illinois--Plainfield
    • A sketch of the old stone blacksmith shop on Main St. It was built some time in the (18)50s by Dennison Green who used it as his shop for some years, but later Sam Glispie did some smithing work here. The house to the right was built by Dennison...
    • Greenwood Shoe Shop

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Shoemakers--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This is a sketch of the Greenwood Shoe Shop on Main St. (which) in the early days was the principal business street in the village. Mr. Greenwood was born 1827 in Yorkshire, England, and came to Plainfield, IL in 1853. He was married the same year,...
    • Plainfield Consolidated School 1881

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools
    • This was Plainfield's first consolidated school and was built in 1881. This picture was taken soon after it was built. Previous to this time, we had two schools, the north and the south. The north school stood where Mrs. Barney Wright's house now...
    • Darr and Spangler Hardware and Grocery 1893

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Hardware stores--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This was the Darr and Spangler Hardware and Grocery Store and is now the store operated by Harry Bayles (1934). How many people of today remember the old white delivery horse? Those that are known in the picture are: unknown, unknown, John Van...
    • Frank R Tobias Drug Store

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Drugstores--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This picture shows the front of the old Frank R. Tobias Drug Store on the north side of Lockport St. and is now occupied (1934) by the A&P. Mr. Tobias is standing at left in the doorway. After his death, his son Thomas Tobias ran the store for a...
    • A T Corbins in 1901 (McKinley Assassination)

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Dry Goods stores--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This picture shows the window decorated in mourning for the death of Wm. McKinley, who was shot in 1901 and was the show window of A.T. Corbin's Store, now A.C. Steiner's (1934). A.C. Steiner was employed as clerk by Corbin and was the decorator....
    • Hartongs Barber Shop and Bath

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Barbershop--Illinois--Plainfield
    • Way back in 1895, this was M.V. Hartong's Barber Shop and Bath, and was the first public bath in Plainfield. The building was formerly occupied by John Bayles the jeweler. Those sitting in front were Frank Meyers, Wm. Perry, and M.V. Hartong. Burr...
    • G Y Smith School 1880

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools; Rural schools--Illinois--Plainfield; Students--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This picture was taken at the G.Y. Smith School NE of Plainfield in 1880. Mrs. Nellie Duffy, Teacher. Standing left to right: John Mottinger, Bert Fickis, Ada Wertzbaugher, Mabel Smith, Dale Mottinger, King Spangler. Second row: Frank Hicks, Earl...
    • Al Worst Barber Shop 1899

    • Barbershop--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This was Al Worst's Barber Shop after the Fire of 1899. The men in the picture are: Al Worst, John Laydon, Jonathan Hartong, James Beggs and his dog Tippie. Boys are not known. This shop was in the rear end of the old building on the SE corner of...
    • Al Worst Barber Shop

    • Barbershop--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • Al Worst's Barber Shop on the south side of Lockport St. and on the same lot on which Floyd Worst now has his shop (1934). This building was burned at the same time when the Livery Barn and Sonntag's Harness Shop burned. The men in the picture are...
    • Darr and Cain Hardware and Grocery Store

    • Hardware stores--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • A picture of Darr and Cain's Hardware and Grocery Store, which was in the same building now occupied by Harry Bayles (1934) and is on the north side of Lockport St. and on the same lot where the second M.E. Church stood. The men in the photo are...
    • North Western College Plainfield IL

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools
    • This is a picture of the old North Western College building at Plainfield. It was built in 1851 by Bishop Esher and was 46' X 70' and cost $10,000. The college moved to Naperville in 1869 and is now known as North Central College but is still under...
    • John Powell's Saloon

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Saloons--Illinois--Plainfield
    • Pre-volstead days in Plainfield. This shows the interior of John Powell's Saloon. Back of the bar is John Powell and Wm. Metzger. From left to right are: Dan King, Frank Day, Bert Stopp, Barney Wright, John Needham, Chris Shafer and his old dog...
    • Plainfield High School Class of 1891

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools
    • This picture shows the Class of 1891 and was the first class to graduate from our Plainfield High School. The exercises were held Friday evening, June 12, 1891. Principal - A.C. Wheat. Members of the class were: Lina Walker, Lucy Hoffer, May...
    • Mill Race North of Red Mill 1933

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Mills--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This picture shows the mill race at the dam north of the Red Mill looking north. To the right where I am sitting are a few stones in the east bank of the race. At this point in the race there was a wall of stone and dirt. Also, a flood gate that...
    • Remnants of Old Mill Site 1933

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Mills--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This picture shows all that is left of the old mill site. The mound of dirt at which I am pointing was the south end of the mill race. Grade was 15 feet above the river. East of this mound was a bridge across the mill race, and south of the bridge...
    • Laura A. Pratt Diploma 1866

    • Illinois--Will County--Plainfield--Schools
    • Certificate of graduation issued by the North Western College of Plainfield, Illinois in 1866 to Miss Laura A. Pratt. It was hand drawn in India ink. This college was under the auspices of the Evangelical Association.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK