Skip to main content

Illinois Digital Archives

Add or remove other collections to your search:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.)
(43 results)



Display: 20

    • Peoria Ill. Adams Street, Looking North

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Historic hotels--Peoria (Ill.); Streets--Illinois--Peoria; Streets--Illinois--Peoria--1900-1910
    • A view of the 200 block of South Adams from Liberty St. toward Fulton St. On the left is Model Clothing Co. at 221-23 South Adams, Salzenstein & Co. clothing at 215 So. Adams. On the right is the awning of the Fey Hotel at 226-28 So. Adams.
    • 4706 Mayer Hotel, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Historic hotels--Peoria (Ill.)
    • This 5 story brick hotel was built by David Mayer in 1907 at 200 NE Adams St. at the corner with Hamilton St. It was sold to two Chicago owners in 1955. On February 14, 1963 it burned to the ground with four people dying as a result of the fire. It...
    • National Hotel---Peoria, Ill.    Peoria Souvenir Co., Box 367

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Historic hotels--Peoria (Ill.); Hotels
    • The New National Hotel was the former home of Robert G. Ingersoll, famous politician and lawyer. Located on the northeast corner of Jefferson & Hamilton Blvd., it was built in 1883 and razed in July 1970 and is now a parking lot.
    • 4708 Niagara Hotel, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Historic hotels--Peoria (Ill.)
    • This hotel was built in early 1890's and was located at 108-110 SW Jefferson Avenue. It began as a three-story building in 1875, then in 1893 four more stories were added by William F. Becker. The building was demolished in 1968.
    • Tower on Grand View Driveway, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.)
    • The Grand View Tower stood at the corner of Kingman & Grand View Drive. It was built between 1905-06. The completed tower was 89' tall and 450' above the river level and one could see for 30 miles. The tower was razed in1943 to assist with the war...
    • Bradley Polytechnic Institute. Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Bradley University--Peoria (Ill.)
    • Founded in 1896 by Lydia Moss Bradley. Ground was broken in 1897 on 17.5 acres and two halls were built: Horology Hall on the left (later renamed Westlake), and Bradley Hall on the right. Both buildings are currently in use. Bradley Polytechnic...
    • New High School, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); High school buildings--Peoria (Ill.)
    • Built in 1916, this is the present location of Peoria High School at 1615 N. North St. between Michigan Ave. and Richmond Ave.
    • Greeley School, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Elementary school Buildings--Peoria (Ill.)
    • Located at the corner of NE Jefferson & Evans St., Greeley was a K-8 school built in 1912. There were additions in 1958-60. The building is still in use (2012).
    • Washington School, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Elementary school Buildings--Peoria (Ill.)
    • This Washington School was built in 1911 on the corner of Moss & Garfield at 839 West Moss Ave. The Architect was Fredrick Klein. It had 3 floors with 12 classrooms. It closed in 2011.
    • Coliseum, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Coliseum (Peoria, Ill.)
    • Located at 515-531 NW Adams St. (Corner of Adams and Hancock St). It had a seating capacity of 7,000. It was erected in 1901 by the Peoria Railway Company and upon completion turned the title over to the city. It was burned in May 1920.
    • White School, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.); Elementary school Buildings--Peoria (Ill.)
    • Located at 300 East Illinois Avenue. Original construction was in 1868 as Peoria County Normal School. In 1882 It was named for Samuel H. White the first principal. It was still in use in 2006.
    • 2684  Proctor Endowment Home, Peoria, Ill.

    • Historic buildings--Peoria (Ill.);
    • This facility located at 1301 NW Glendale Ave, began use in 1906, as a life-care retirement center. It was founded by Peoria philanthropist John C. Proctor. In 1976 they moved to a new facility on Reservoir St. This building is still in use as the...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK