Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Cook Memorial Public Library District, Libertyville
(409 results)



Display: 50

    • 121 North Park Place

    • 121 N. Park Place; Park Place; residences;
    • Stephen Taylor, father of Dr. John L. Taylor, occupied this home at 121 North Park Place until his death in 1920. It was then occupied by the Burt Steir family. There were originally four houses on the west side of Park Place and Hurlburt Court:...
    • 126 West Lake Street

    • 126 W. Lake St.; residences;
    • Oren Luce and his wife Kate lived in this residence on 126 West Lake Street in Libertyville. They moved here from a farm in Vernon Township sometime in the early 1900s. When Oren lived in Libertyville he was a harness maker and owned his own shop....
    • 130 West Maple Avenue

    • 130 W. Maple Ave.; residences;
    • Residence of Franklin P. Dymond on Division Street, later renamed Maple Avenue. The exact address is 130 West Maple Avenue. At the turn of the twentieth century, Franklin P. Dymond was president of the Lake County Bank and was an owner (with R. J....
    • 205 West Cook Avenue

    • 205 W. Cook Ave.; residences;
    • Situated at the corner of Brainerd and Cook Avenues, this house was owned by Kenneth Lovell in the 1920s and 1930s. Kenneth Lovell was the son of Libertyville druggist F. B. Lovell and worked as a sales manager at American Wire Mills in...
    • 215 Elm Court

    • 215 Elm Court; residences;
    • At the turn of the century, John Eli Triggs lived in this brick home at 215 Elm Court. It then became the residence of his son Ross S. Triggs. John Eli operated Triggs Grocery and Meat Market, a leading business on Milwaukee Avenue in Libertyville,...
    • 223 South Stewart Avenue

    • 223 S. Stewart Ave.; residences;
    • This house is located at 223 South Stewart Avenue in Libertyville, on the northwest corner of McKinley and Stewart Avenues. William Whigam lived here in the 1910s and 1920s.
    • 312 Elm Court

    • 312 Elm Court; residences;
    • Located at 312 Elm Court, this house was a wedding present from John Eli Triggs, local grocer and meat market owner, to his daughter Irene and her husband Frank Wright. The house was built in 1910.
    • 316 South Stewart Avenue

    • 316 S. Stewart Ave.; residences;
    • Interesting stonework graces the front porch of this house located at 316 South Stewart Avenue in Libertyville. Robert P. Schnaebele was a carpenter in Libertyville and lived here in the early part of the twentieth century. According to local...
    • A Chapter on Thinness of Skin

    • society
    • The Libertyville Literary Society was made up of young men and women who met for social and intellectual pursuits in the 1870s. This essay was written by one of the members of the Society and is a good example of the humorous style enjoyed by the...
    • Abana Spring, Libertyville, Ill.

    • bottled water; businesses; drinking water; horse-drawn vehicles; Park Place; springs; Abana Spring;
    • View of Abana Spring in Libertyville, IL. Descriptive note written on back: This was the second Abana Spring on Park Place about 1910.
      Frederick Grabbe established his bottling company in Libertyville in 1880 and marketed the clear drinking...
    • Abana Springs, Libertyville, Ill.

    • bottled water; businesses; drinking water; Newberry Avenue; springs; Abana Spring;
    • Frederick Grabbe established his bottling company in Libertyville in 1880 and marketed the clear drinking water as Abana Spring. The original well pictured here was located on Newberry Avenue, but when this dried up a second well was struck on what...
    • Ace Hardware

    • Cizek collection
    • In 1896 H. B. Eger built his hardware store just to the north of Schanck's Hardware Company. Eger sold the business to Ernie Griffis in 1935. Griffis was allied with a company named Ace Hardware and put up the sign shown in this photograph. In...
    • Ace Hardware

    • Cizek collection
    • In 1896 H. B. Eger built his hardware store just to the north of Schanck's Hardware Company. Eger sold the business to Ernie Griffis in 1935. Griffis was allied with a company named Ace Hardware and put up the sign shown in this photograph. In...
    • Ace Welding Service

    • Cizek collection
    • This business offered general repairs on residential and industrial steel structures and ornamental iron. In addition, they manufactured new truck bodies and utility and boat trailers.
    • Aerial View of Libertyville, Illinois

    • aerial views
    • Aerial view of Libertyville in the 1960s looking southwest. Butler Lake can be identified in the top right corner. Descriptive note on the back reads: "Combining suburban living with urban conveniences, more than 9,000 residents are proud to call...
    • American Wire Mills

    • American Wire Fence Company; American Wire Mills; businesses; factories;
    • View of American Wire Mills, also called American Wire Fence Company, located at the east end of Church Street, Libertyville. The company opened in 1905 and ceased operations during the Depression.
    • Ammunition Stockpile Guard Crew

    • Uniforms; Army; Operation Iraqi Freedom
    • Jon Fujiu, U. S. Army soldier in Iraq, is pictured in the center with fellow Ammunition Stockpile Guard Crew members (l. to r.): William Brassfield, Charlie Hyde, Jon Fujiu, Patrick Peterson.
    • Armistice Day

    • Armistice Day; street views; Milwaukee Avenue
    • A crowd assembles for an Armistice Day celebration on Milwaukee Avenue in downtown Libertyville. In the foreground is the Libertyville Band.
    • Army Air Corps Training Group

    • Uniforms; Army; Air corps; World War II; Planes; Training;
    • William Reinka (pictured standing to the left of the number 196 on the plane) fought in the U. S. Army Air Corps in World War II. This is a picture of his training squadron in Foster Field, Texas. See related link for more information on Foster...
    • B-24 Cockpit

    • Cockpits; Planes
    • View of the cockpit of the b-24 bomber flown by William Reinka in the Pacific Theater in World War II. The back of the photograph reads: "Consolidated B-24 Four Engine Heavy Bomber. The Liberator"
    • B-24 Crew

    • Uniforms; Army Air Corps; Army; Air Corps; World War II; Tonopah Army Air Base
    • This is the crew of B-24 #355 at Tonopah Army Air Base in Tonopah, Nevada. The field is now a municipal airport. Back Row: Lt. James H. conley (Pilot), William J. Reinka (Co-pilot), Clarence Oberly (Navigator), Max W. Stevens (Bombardier). Front...
    • Baer's Laundry and Dry Cleaning

    • Cizek collection; Dry cleaners; Laundries
    • Henry and Ethel Baer purchased this business in1939; at that time it was the Libertyville Home Laundry, Inc. The Baers changed the name in 1953. Services included pickup and delivery of laundry and dry cleaning. Customers could also choose to drop...
    • Basic Training

    • Uniforms; Army; Operation Iraqi Freedom; Basic training;
    • Jon Fujiu, pictured in center wearing glasses, served in the U. S. Army in Iraq during Operation Iraqi Freedom. This picture was taken at his basic training in Fort Knox, Kentucky, November 2001.
    • Beck's Sheet Metal Shop

    • Cizek collection
    • Beck's Sheet Metal Shop, located in the former home of Oren I. Luce, provided a wide range of sheet metal work, including repairing and replacing gutters and downspouts, contracting copper and duct work, and heating and ventilation work. Oren Luce,...
    • Bell Telephone Building

    • Cizek collection ;
    • The first office for telephone service in Libertyville was on Milwaukee Avenue between Orchard and Sprague Streets. In 1911, the company rented space on East Church Street. By 1923 they had erected a building at 125 East Church Street, pictured...
    • Bell Telephone Building, Libertyville, Illinois

    • buildings; businesses; Illinois Bell Telephone Company; Telephone Building; Telephone Companies Offices;
    • On November 30, 1943, ground was broken for the Illinois Bell Building pictured here at 117 East Church Street. Completion of this office building the following year allowed for expanded and modernized services, including conversion to dial service...
    • Bird's Eye View, Libertyville

    • aerial views; buildings; businesses; Hurlburt Store; Max Kohner's Dry Goods; Milwaukee Ave.; Protine Building; W. C. Triggs' Shoe Store;
    • Aerial view of Libertyville looking southeast at the corner of Milwaukee Avenue and Cook Street. Starting at the corner and moving south, the businesses on the east side of Milwaukee Avenue in the early 1900s were: Eli Trigg's Market and Grocery,...
    • Bird's Eye View, Libertyville, Ill.

    • aerial views; buildings; businesses; Hurlburt Store; Max Kohner's Dry Goods; Milwaukee Ave.; Protine Building; W. C. Triggs' Shoe Store;
    • Aerial view of Libertyville looking southeast at the corner of Milwaukee Avenue and Cook Street. Starting at the corner and moving south, the businesses on the east side of Milwaukee Avenue in the early 1900s were: Eli Trigg's Market and Grocery,...
    • Bogues' IGA Super Market

    • Cizek collection
    • Owned and operated by Phil Bogue, the IGA was one of many smaller grocery stores in Libertyville in the 1950s. They were open seven days a week and took phone orders for door-to-door delivery. They closed in the 1960s.
    • Brainerd Court looking south

    • Brainerd Avenue; Brainerd Court; residences; street views;
    • In Libertyville's early days Brainerd Court (now Brainerd Avenue) extended from Lake Street to Church Street. Ansel Cook named Brainerd Court after his mother's family. Notice the horse grazing in the side yard of one of the houses on the street.
    • Brown Paper Goods Company

    • Cizek collection; Paper bag company
    • Brown Paper Goods Company was founded in 1918 and located to Libertyville in 1940. According to a 1951 Libertyville directory, Brown Paper Goods manufactured and printed "various types of bags used for packing of bakery products, coffee, candy,...
    • Brown Paper Goods Company

    • Cizek collection; Paper bag company
    • Brown Paper Goods Company was founded in 1918 and located to Libertyville in 1940. According to a 1951 Libertyville directory, Brown Paper Goods manufactured and printed "various types of bags used for packing of bakery products, coffee, candy,...
    • Bruns Realty Company

    • Cizek collection; Bruns; Remodeling businesses
    • This building at 221 South Milwaukee Avenue housed the Bruns Realty Co. and the E. J. Bruns Construction Company. Their business included residential developments as well as building to suit the owner's specifications on their own lot. Bruns also...
    • Burgess-Manning Company

    • Cizek collection
    • Burgess-Manning was founded in 1944 by W. L. Manning, succeeding the Acoustic Division of Burgess Battery Company. There was also a plant in Wisconsin. Burgess-Manning employeed 55 people in the mid-1950s, 40 in Libertyville and 15 in the Wisconsin...
    • Butler Lake, Libertyville, Illinois

    • Cizek collection;
    • This view of Butler Lake was taken from the east side of the lake. The 50-acre lake west of downtown Libertyville was originally a natural body of water fed by Bull Creek. It lay at the western edge of property owned by early Libertyville settler...
    • Butler Lake, Libertyville, Illinois

    • Cizek collection;
    • This view of Butler Lake was taken from the northeast side of the lake. The 50-acre lake west of downtown Libertyville was originally a natural body of water fed by Bull Creek. It lay at the western edge of property owned by early Libertyville...
    • C. M. Station, Libertyville, Ill.

    • depots; electric railroads; train stations; trains; windmills;
    • This station serviced the Chicago and Milwaukee Electric Railroad Company of Illinois which built a branch line from Lake Bluff to Libertyville in 1903. Pictured in the postcard is a windmill which provided power to pump the station's water supply....
    • Central Auto Service

    • Cizek collection; Gas stations; Automobile service stations
    • This business began in 1942 on the site formerly occupied by Merle's Auto Repair Service near the corner of Lake Street and Milwaukee Avenue. Merle's had been in business since 1931; Central Auto Service remained in business for some 20 years.
    • Central Park, Libertyville

    • Central Park;
    • Central Park was officially set aside as a park when C. Frank Wright's subdivision became an addition to the village of Libertyville in 1893. Wright's addition was primarily a residential neighborhood surrounding the park, bordered by Broadway...
    • Central Park, Libertyville, Ill.

    • cannons; Catholic churches; Central Park; Rectories; St. Joseph Church;
    • A view of Central Park looking east from Milwaukee Avenue. The Catholic church and rectory can be seen through the trees in the background. According to local historian Dean Larson, the cannon was later moved to Cook Park. During World War II it...
    • Central Park, Libertyville, Ill.

    • cannons; Catholic churches; Central Park; St. Joseph Church;
    • A view of Central Park looking east from Milwaukee Avenue. The Catholic church and rectory can be seen through the trees in the background. According to local historian Dean Larson, the cannon was later moved to Cook Park. During World War II it...
    • Central Park, Libertyville, Ill.

    • Central Park;
    • A view of Central Park looking west toward Milwaukee Avenue. The turret of Doctor John Taylor’s house can be seen behind the trees on Broadway Street. His daughter Marion, who was nine years old at the time, wrote a note on the back of this...
    • Central School, Libertyville, Ill. (early view)

    • Central School; elementary schools; grammar schools; high schools; school buildings; Schools;
    • Built in 1886 and located on School Street, Central School began as a four room school building, although only two rooms were used at first. Residents were not pleased as they felt their taxes were being wasted, but the population steadily...
    • Central School, Libertyville, Ill. (later view)

    • Central School; elementary schools; grammar schools; high schools; school buildings; Schools;
    • Color view of Central School which was originally built in 1886 on School Street. It was expanded in 1906 to accommodate the growing population. Beginning in 1898 high school classes met on the second floor until they met in their own building on...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK