Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Cizek
(243 results)



Display: 50

    • Factor's

    • Cizek collection
    • The entrance to the New Castle Hotel is flanked by Ray Woodworth's optometrist business on the left and Factor's women's apparel store on the right. Factor's opened in the mid-1950s and closed some time in the early 1970s.
    • Factor's

    • Cizek collection
    • Factor's was located in the 500 block of North Milwaukee Avenue on the east side of the street. They specialized in women's apparel. The business opened in the mid-1950s and closed some time in the early 1970s.
    • Central Auto Service

    • Cizek collection; Gas stations; Automobile service stations
    • This business began in 1942 on the site formerly occupied by Merle's Auto Repair Service near the corner of Lake Street and Milwaukee Avenue. Merle's had been in business since 1931; Central Auto Service remained in business for some 20 years.
    • Ace Hardware

    • Cizek collection
    • In 1896 H. B. Eger built his hardware store just to the north of Schanck's Hardware Company. Eger sold the business to Ernie Griffis in 1935. Griffis was allied with a company named Ace Hardware and put up the sign shown in this photograph. In...
    • Baer's Laundry and Dry Cleaning

    • Cizek collection; Dry cleaners; Laundries
    • Henry and Ethel Baer purchased this business in1939; at that time it was the Libertyville Home Laundry, Inc. The Baers changed the name in 1953. Services included pickup and delivery of laundry and dry cleaning. Customers could also choose to drop...
    • Ace Hardware

    • Cizek collection
    • In 1896 H. B. Eger built his hardware store just to the north of Schanck's Hardware Company. Eger sold the business to Ernie Griffis in 1935. Griffis was allied with a company named Ace Hardware and put up the sign shown in this photograph. In...
    • Motor Parts & Machine Company

    • Cizek collection; Automobile parts; Auto parts
    • This business supplied motor parts and machinery to wholesalers and manufacturers. They were in business in Libertyville from the 1940s to the late 1960s.
    • Libertyville Lumber Company

    • Cizek collection; Lumber mills; Lumber yards ;
    • The structure pictured here was part of the Libertyville Lumber Company's complex of buildings. The company was located at 411 North First Street at Church Street and this building was at the northeast corner of First and Church Streets, near the...
    • Burgess-Manning Company

    • Cizek collection
    • Burgess-Manning was founded in 1944 by W. L. Manning, succeeding the Acoustic Division of Burgess Battery Company. There was also a plant in Wisconsin. Burgess-Manning employeed 55 people in the mid-1950s, 40 in Libertyville and 15 in the Wisconsin...
    • R. E. Sayers office

    • Cizek collection; Eye doctors
    • Dr. Sayers, one of several optometrists in Libertyville in the 1950s, maintained his office at 112 East Church Street opposite the telephone office. From 1939 to 1956 his office was at 428 North Milwaukee Avenue. Dr. Sayers lived at 123 N. Stewart...
    • Residence of Dr. John L. Taylor

    • Cizek collection; Homes; Houses; Residences
    • This house stands at 128 Broadway, at the northwest corner of Broadway and Wright Court. It is more than one hundred years old. It was the home of Dr. John L. Taylor who was born in Staceyville, Iowa in 1866 and came to Libertyville as a youth....
    • Hanlon Motor Company Used Cars

    • Cizek collection ;
    • The used car lot pictured here was located at the southwest corner of South Milwaukee Avenue and Lincoln Avenue. It was an extension of Hanlon Motor Company, a Ford dealership run by the Hanlon brothers, John, Robert and Walter. They had begun the...
    • Lake County Nursing Home

    • Cizek collection; Poor farms
    • Known as the Lake County Nursing Home in the 1950s, this institution provided care for the elderly, many of whom were on public aid. Originally called the Lake County Poor Farm, the institution began in 1847 when the county purchased farmland from...
    • Evangelical Free Church

    • Cizek collection; Evangelical Free Church
    • Under the leadership of Dr. Raymond Ludwigson, president of Trinity Seminary and Bible College, a group from Libertyville decided to become an Evangelical Free Church congregation in 1951. They purchased ten acres at the southwest corner of West...
    • Morton Manufacturing Company

    • Cizek collection; Manufacturing
    • Located at 628 East Church Street in Libertyville, Morton Manufacturing produced steel cabinets, mostly for use in kitchens. The cabinets were sold through a division of Nash-Kelvinator Sales Corp. The local plant was founded in 1942. In the...
    • Libertyville Lumber Company

    • Cizek collection; Lumber mills; Lumber yards
    • Looking toward one of the main buildings of the Libertyville Lumber Company. This company was located at 411 North First Street at Church Street, or as it was advertised early in its career, "Down by the old Depot since 1904." The situation was...
    • First Church of Christ, Scientist

    • Cizek collection; Christian Science churches;
    • This church building was erected in 1905 as St. John's Lutheran Church, located at Park Place and Broadway in Libertyville. In 1923 a group of Christian Scientists formed the Christian Science Society in Libertyville. On July 6, 1944 they became...
    • Residence of Dr. Charles R. Galloway

    • Cizek collection; Homes; Houses; Residences ;
    • This house stood at the southwest corner of Park and Milwaukee Avenues in Libertyville. Dr. Galloway was the son of Dr. Samuel Galloway, who arrived in Libertyville in 1860 and set up practice after graduating from Rush Medical College in 1865....
    • Lund's Restaurant

    • Cizek collection ;
    • Lund's Restaurant was located at 624 North Milwaukee Avenue in a free-standing building near the Liberty Theater. On the day this photograph was taken, they advertised their Sunday special, "home-cook'd" Long Island duckling for $1.75. The...
    • Evangelical Free Church

    • Cizek collection; Evangelical Free Church
    • Under the leadership of Dr. Raymond Ludwigson, president of Trinity Seminary and Bible College, a group from Libertyville decided to become an Evangelical Free Church congregation in 1951. They purchased ten acres at the southwest corner of West...
    • Ace Welding Service

    • Cizek collection
    • This business offered general repairs on residential and industrial steel structures and ornamental iron. In addition, they manufactured new truck bodies and utility and boat trailers.
    • Libertyville-Fremont Consolidated High School

    • Cizek collection; Libertyville High School; Libertyville Township High School; School buildings; Schools
    • This photograph shows the entrance to the Libertyville-Fremont Consolidated High School, located on West Park Avenue in Libertyville. In 1916 the Libertyville Township High School District was created, and land was purchased at the corner of Park...
    • Gustafson Motors, Inc.

    • Cizek collection; Automobile body and fender work;
    • Percy Gustafson opened this automobile agency in late 1950 on the southwest corner of Park and Milwaukee Avenues, the site of the Dr. Galloway residence. The agency sold De Soto, Plymouth, Chrysler and Rambler model cars and parts as well as...
    • New Bush School

    • Cizek collection Bush School
    • Bush School was organized in 1861 as District 8. This is the second Bush School to be built on this site. The 4-room brick building pictured here, Bush School District 71, was annexed to Libertyville Grade School district 70 on April 9, 1962. After...
    • G. L. Miller Mercury Sales and Service

    • Cizek collection; Mercury dealers ; G. L. Miller Mercury Sales and Service ;
    • G. L. Miller Mercury Sales, Inc. operated at 807 North Milwaukee Avenue, just north of the railroad crossing on the west side of the street. They sold and serviced Mercury automobiles, and also sold a large selection of used cars.
    • Weil's Ladies Apparel

    • Cizek collection
    • Weil's and Schwandt Realty Company were located in the Proctor Building at 602 and 606 North Milwaukee Avenue, respectively. Weil's sold women's wear: dresses, coats, suits, etc. but was not in business for very long. William G. Schwandt and Lester...
    • Sid's Super Service Station

    • Cizek collection; Gas stations; Texaco stations
    • This service station was at 800 North Milwaukee Avenue. It was owned and operated by Sid Kick from the 1940s to the 1960s. In addition to gasoline and oil, the services offered ran the gamut of automobile maintenance. Kick also offered towing and...
    • Railroad Underpass

    • Cizek collection; Underpasses; Trusses
    • This railroad underpass was constructed in 1899-1900 when the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railroad extended its passenger line to Fox Lake and on into Wisconsin, the Janesville/Madison division. The tracks paralleled Newberry Avenue and the...
    • Western Tire Auto Associate Store

    • Cizek collection; Auto parts store
    • Western Tire and Auto Shop located at 618 North Milwaukee Avenue when this photograph was taken. They sold tires and accepted trade-ins. The Liberty Barber Shop was opened by Fred Smith in 1916 at 614 North Milwaukee Avenue. Smith was the...
    • Clark Oil & Refining Corporation

    • Cizek collection
    • This service station stood at 725 North Milwaukee Avenue. It was a unit of the conglomerate Clark Oil & Refining Corporation. As the sign next to the gasoline pumps proclaims, they covered the territory "From Canada to the Gulf of Mexico."
    • Paul J. Duba , Jr. Plumbing

    • Cizek collection
    • Mr. Duba owned and operated this plumbing establishment at 759 North Milwaukee Avenue. He advertised for plumbing and heating, with oil burners, water heaters, and "a complete line of plumbing supplies." Mr. Duba died in an automobile accident in...
    • Titus Brothers

    • Cizek collection
    • The northwest corner of Cook Street and Milwaukee Avenue housed several small businesses. Titus Brothers, 501 N. Milwaukee Avenue, sold and repaired appliances; they were also electrical contractors, advertising "Light and power wiring…residentail...
    • Morrison Shoe Store

    • Cizek collection; Shoe stores;
    • The northeast corner of Milwaukee Avenue and Cook Street housed the Morrison Shoes (432 N. Milwaukee Ave.) Enevold Realty Company (430 N. Milwaukee Ave.), Mooney's Fur Shop (428 N. Milwaukee Ave.), Libertyville Credit Bureau (428 N. Milwaukee...
    • Scottie's Restaurant

    • Cizek collection
    • Scottie's Restaurant was located at 338 N. Milwaukee Avenue, on the east side of Milwaukee, just north of Broadway Street. Scottie's was also the location of the Cardinal Bus Depot, providing some added business for the restaurant. In the 1950s,...
    • Liberty Feed

    • Cizek collection ;
    • Liberty Feed, owned by Elmer Van Haecke, sold feed for poultry, hogs, and dairy cattle. The main brand they sold was Larro Feed, advertised on the front of the building. Liberty Feed featured mixing and custom grinding services, and they offered...
    • Schanck Building

    • Cizek collection
    • Located on the northeast corner of Cook Street and Milwaukee Avenues, the Schanck building housed several businesses in the 1950s: Schanck Hardware store, Thompson's Store for Men, King Loan Company, Anderson's Quality Custom Tailor. The Schanck...
    • Schanck Building

    • Cizek collection
    • Located on the northeast corner of Cook Street and Milwaukee Avenues, the Schanck building housed several businesses in the 1950s: Schanck Hardware store, Thompson's Store for Men, King Loan Company, Anderson's Quality Custom Tailor. The Schanck...
    • Schanck Building

    • Cizek collection
    • Located on the northeast corner of Cook Street and Milwaukee Avenues, the Schanck building housed several businesses in the 1950s: Schanck Hardware store, Thompson's Store for Men, King Loan Company, Anderson's Quality Custom Tailor. The Schanck...
    • Residence of Holcomb family

    • Cizek collection; Houses; Homes; Residences; Farm houses ;
    • This farm house stood at 200 East Maple Avenue, or Route 176, in Mundelein. This was the home of several generations of the Holcomb family, early settlers in the Mundelein area. The Holcombs were farmers, originally from the Dakotas. The last...
    • Hales Fabric Store

    • Cizek collection; Fabric stores;
    • This fabric store was located just east of Milwaukee Avenue on Cook Street. The store remained in business through the 1980s.
    • Libertyville Fire Station

    • Cizek collection
    • Libertyville's local fire station was located just west of Milwaukee Avenue on Cook Street near the downtown area. A water tower can be seen through the trees in the top right-hand corner of this photograph. The fire department was born in...
    • Photo Lab Studio

    • Cizek collection; Photo studio
    • Located in a residence on the north side of Cook Street, this studio offered portraits, family and wedding photos, enlarging and other photographic services. It went out of business at this address when buildings in the area were razed to make room...
    • A. R. Tinko & Sons

    • Cizek collection; Glass stores
    • A. R. Trinko owned this glass company with his two sons, Edward and Albert at 627 N. Second Street. A 1951 description of their business includes: "Dealers in flat glass of all kinds. Glazing contracts, creators, designers, and craftsman in flat...
    • Condell Memorial Hospital

    • Cizek collection
    • Condell Memorial Hospital was built in 1928 with funds from the estate of Elizabeth Condell, who wished to build the hospital in memory of her parents. When it opened, the hospital had 25 beds. Funding for the construction of the hospital was truly...
    • Phillips 66 Gas Station

    • Cizek collection; Gas stations; Phillips 66;
    • This Phillips 66 station was located on North Milwaukee Avenue north of Hurlburt Court. It was owned by Orville Hapke and Raymond Hanlon. H & H was a full service station, offering greasing, washing, tire repair, brake service, tune-ups, towing,...
    • Felix's Tavern

    • Cizek collection; Taverns; The Island
    • This small tavern opened in 1949 at 114 East Cook Street and remained in business there until 1967. The owner/operator was Felix Antonevich. In 1967 he moved the bar to a free-standing building in back of the 114 East Cook Street location and the...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK