Skip to main content

Illinois Digital Archives

Add or remove other collections to your search:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
(47 results)



Display: 20

    • Will County Recorder of Deeds Office Grantor/Grantee Index Volume A-D

    • Illinois--Cook County; Banks--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Churches--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Manufacturing--Illinois--Plainfield; People; Politics & government; Pioneers--Illinois;
    • Will County Recorder of Deeds Office property transactions for Will County from 1836-1885. Entries are listed alphabetically by surname and include: Surname; First Name; Type of transaction; Volume and Page where original record can be found at...
    • South side Lockport St Fire of 1898

    • Fires--Illinois--Plainfield; Post offices--Illinois--Plainfield; Banks--Illinois--Plainfield; Hardware stores--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This is another picture showing burned area after the fire of 1898, looking SE. The iron work you see standing was the front of the Post Office, John Sennitt was then Post Master. This fire started in the basement of Hays and McCreery's General...
    • South side Lockport St Fire of 1899

    • Fires--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Barbershop--Illinois--Plainfield; Stables--Illinois--Plainfield; Saloons--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This is a picture of the south side of Lodkport St. in Plainfield, after the fire of 1899 and shows all that was left of the Sonntag Bros. Harness Shop. Also burned at this time was a tool shed, livery stable and Al Worst Barber Shop. These...
    • Lockport St. 1892

    • Fires--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Drugstores--Illinois--Plainfield; Shoemakers--Illinois--Plainfield
    • Lockport St.in about 1892 and shows a part of Daniel Zimmerman's shoe shop also the Wood buildings, the roof of the Calaboose and Flaggs barns.To the right may be seen part of the burned area of 1891. The fire destroyed all on the north side of...
    • Al Worst Barber Shop 1899

    • Barbershop--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This was Al Worst's Barber Shop after the Fire of 1899. The men in the picture are: Al Worst, John Laydon, Jonathan Hartong, James Beggs and his dog Tippie. Boys are not known. This shop was in the rear end of the old building on the SE corner of...
    • Al Worst Barber Shop

    • Barbershop--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • Al Worst's Barber Shop on the south side of Lockport St. and on the same lot on which Floyd Worst now has his shop (1934). This building was burned at the same time when the Livery Barn and Sonntag's Harness Shop burned. The men in the picture are...
    • Darr and Cain Hardware and Grocery Store

    • Hardware stores--Illinois--Plainfield; Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • A picture of Darr and Cain's Hardware and Grocery Store, which was in the same building now occupied by Harry Bayles (1934) and is on the north side of Lockport St. and on the same lot where the second M.E. Church stood. The men in the photo are...
    • First General Store in Plainfield IL

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This is a picture of a drawing of the first general store built in the town of Plainfield. In 1834, Jonathan Hagar left Ohio and came to Plainfield and in company with Samuel Sargeant opened a store over a wagon shop owned by John Bills which stood...
    • North side of Lockport Street 1885

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Architecture
    • Lockport St. Looking NE circa 1885. This section was burned in 1891. As nearly as possible the businesses,proprietors and men on the street are; George Walker Restaurant, George Walker. Rousch Shoe Shop, M. Rousch. Meat Market, Mottinger....
    • NE view of Lockport Street 1869

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Architecture
    • A picture of the north side of Lockport St. taken in about 1869. Looking in a N.E. direction the store buildings from left to right may have been occupied by the following persons. 1. Dundore and Doude, General Merchandise 2. M.G. Sharp's...
    • South Side of Lockport Street 1868

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Architecture
    • This is a picture of the south side of Lockport Street in 1868-69 looking S.E. from right to left. 1. A part of the old corner building built by Root Kent in the 40s. 2. The next was the Essington Blscksmith shop. Note the old style platform...
    • NW view of Lockport Street 1868

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Architecture
    • This is one of the old time pictures of Lockport Street in 1868-69 and is taken looking N.W. As nearly as is known they were right to left; 1. The two story buildings were built by E.J. Wood and have been used for various kinds of businesses. The...
    • Central Hotel 1868

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Hotels
    • Another of the oldest pictures of early Plainfield taken in 1868-1869 looking S.E. and shows the old Kent building, the Central Hotel and the spire of the new M.E. church, which was dedicated in 1868. There was a Barber shop on the second floor of...
    • G.N. Chittenden's Dry Goods Store

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Dry Goods stores--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This picture was taken shortly after the building was built in 1870. Corbin and Chittenden built it for their General Store, their former location was on the S.W. corner of Division and Commercial Sts. and on the lot where (1934) A.C. Steiner now...
    • Jonathan Hagar

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This is a portrait of Jonathan Hagar of Plainfield, IL. Mr. Hagar was born in Quebec, Canada February 19, 1807. He moved with his parent to Montreal then to Middlebury, VT and lived on his mother's farm. His father was a sea captain. Mr. Hagar...
    • Opera House 1894

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Architecture
    • The old Opera House in 1894, looking SW, in front of the building are; 1. Jeremiah Evarts 2. Chit Whitlock 3. M.V. Hartong 4. Sam Brainard 5. Unidentified 6. Gilas Foster 7. Wm. Demeritt 8. M.V. Hartong 9. Maud Mottinger 10. Grace Mottinger 11....
    • Opera House 1892

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Architecture
    • Another picture of the Old Opera House in 1892 looking SW and showing 1.Unidentified 2. Al Worst 3. Harry Collins on Bicycle 4. Jeremiah Evarts 5. George Wraith These buildings on the south sde of the street burned in 1888 and this was the...
    • Gathering at Almon Mottinger's Studio

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; People
    • Picture of the young people that made Almon Mottinger's studioes a meeting place. His studio was in the old Opera House in the 1890's. Those in the picture as you are looking at the image are standing: Irene Mottinger, Clark Mottinger, Lu Hartley,...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK