Skip to main content

Illinois Digital Archives

Add or remove other collections to your search:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1866)and
(841 results)



Display: 20

    • Academy of Music Advertisement

    • Advertisements; Entertainment; Music; Musician; Vaudeville; Dance Orchestra; Quincy, Illinois;
    • Academy of Music, also known as Pinkham Hall, Advertisement. The Academy of Music theatre was operated by Natham Pinkham on the north side of Maine street between 3rd and 4th streets, next to J.H. Wheeler Co. The building burned in 1879....
    • Landmarks in Naperville

    • Architecture -- Naperville (Ill.) -- History; Naperville (Ill.) -- History -- Pictorial works ; Naperville (Ill.) -- Social life and customs -- Pictorial works
    • Naperville artist-historian Lester Schrader created forty paintings of old Naperville with photographs of the same sites as they existed in 1981. Created between 1946 and 1981, the paintings are housed at Naper Settlement. The story begins with...
    • Dick Snyder Blacksmith Shop

    • Blacksmith--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This is a sketch of the old Dick Snyder Blacksmith Shop. (It) stood at the turn of the road on the way to Joliet. It was NE of the old Dillman Foundry which was later known as the Webb Wagon Shop. There were a number of these old blacksmith shops...
    • Keokuk

    • Boats; Businesses; Quincy, Illinois; Transportation
    • Keokuk, sternwheeler built in Brownsville, Pennsylvania in 1858 for the Rapids Packet Co. Soon sold to the Minnesota Packet Co., for the La Crosse-St. Paul trade, then to the Davidson Line, same trade. Sank at Baton Rouge in 1866. Le Claire Drug...
    • Andy Johnson Steamboat

    • Boats; Government; Transportation; Quincy, Illinois
    • Andy Johnson steamboat, the boat that carried President Andrew Johnson on his famous trip from Alton to St. Louis on his "swing around the circle" September 8, 1866. Exterior view of steamboat along shore, people on boat and shore. B/w, 7" x 5".
    • East Side

    • Bridges; Churches -- Illinois; Distilleries; Mills and mill-work;
    • Photograph of Elgins east side in 1866. Handwritten numbers on photograph indicate different establishments.1. Dam across Fox River2. Whiskey storage sheds of distillery3. W.C. Kimballs saw mill4. John Spillard & Son Leather store5. West side mill...
    • East Side

    • Bridges; Hotels, taverns, etc.; Railroads;
    • Photograph of Elgins East Side in 1866. Handwritten numbers on the photograph refer to different establishments.1. Galena & Chicago Union R.R. depot2. John Hill residence3. Judge S. Wilcox home4. Railway wood shed for R.R. engineers5. Judge S....
    • Business and Industry: G - O

    • Business enterprises--Illinois; Business enterprises--Illinois--St. Charles history; Saint Charles (Ill.)--History
    • Photocopies of newspaper articles compiled by St. Charles Public Library staff. Organized alphabetically by business name. Dates currently referenced: 1878-1991. Commentary and notes by Library staff
    • Warner Hatch Tin Shop

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This is a sketch of the old building that stood on the NE corner of Division and Main Streets. On the first floor, Warner Hatch had a tin shop and living rooms. The upper floor was used for entertainment and dances. In the winter of 1885-86,...
    • Sketch of Hagar Home

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield
    • This is a sketch of the old Hagar home. It was located just across the street from the Greenwood Shoe Shop. The first Hagar and Sanger Store was what is now (1934) the Congregational parsonage. This store building has been moved NW on the lot and...
    • Old Red Mill

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Agriculture--Illinois--Plainfield; Mills--Illinois--Plainfield
    • The Old Red Mill was built by James Mathews in 1835 and was operated by him until 1844. McAllister Brothers bought it and did some remodeling adding a saw mill which was operated by Burrell, Hagar and Goodhue and, later in 1829, by Alonzo...
    • Fisher House on Main Street

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Architecture
    • This is a sketch of what is now (1934) known as the Fisher house and stands on the NE of the railroad and on the south side of Main St. In the early days of Plainfield, it was the storehouse of the McAllister Bros. They also operated the Old Red...
    • Dennison Green Blacksmith Shop

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Blacksmith--Illinois--Plainfield
    • A sketch of the old stone blacksmith shop on Main St. It was built some time in the (18)50s by Dennison Green who used it as his shop for some years, but later Sam Glispie did some smithing work here. The house to the right was built by Dennison...
    • Greenwood Shoe Shop

    • Businesses--Illinois--Will County--Plainfield; Shoemakers--Illinois--Plainfield
    • This is a sketch of the Greenwood Shoe Shop on Main St. (which) in the early days was the principal business street in the village. Mr. Greenwood was born 1827 in Yorkshire, England, and came to Plainfield, IL in 1853. He was married the same year,...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK