Collection provided by: St. John's College Department of Nursing Library
This collection of images represents a portion of the rich history of St. John’s College in Springfield, Illinois. The images cover the time from the School’s inception in 1886 as St. John’s Hospital Training School to the demolition of the old School of Nursing building in 1990. Father Louis Hinssen and the Hospital Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis started the School on October 4, 1886 (Feast of St. Francis). It was the first Catholic hospital school of nursing, and in the beginning was a one-year program exclusively for the Hospital Sisters. In 1912, the first lay women were admitted. The first men were admitted in 1955. The School of Nursing officially became St. John’s College, Department of Nursing, in 1991.